Wesbank Johannesburg Motor Show Car of the Year – Video


2014 Car of the Year Finalists announcement was a huge spectator event at the Johannesburg International Motor Show

Wesbank Car of the year

For the first time in the 29-year history of the WesBank / SA Guild of Motoring Journalists Car of the Year competition, the announcement of the finalists turned into a highly popular spectator attraction.


The decision by the organisers to announce the finalists in the Nasrec Arena on the second day of the 2013 Johannesburg International Motor Show, with plenty of advanced publicity to show-goers by dint of a super-powerful public address system, meant that the banks surrounding the nine finalists lined up on the arena’s perfectly-trimmed lawn were packed with people.

“That really was a great idea, and I am thrilled with the number of people who left the show-halls to watch the count-down to revealing the finalists,” said WesBank’s Car of the Year co-ordinator, Michelle Davis.

“It was a great idea to do the finalists announcement on one of the most popular show days,” added Michelle.

The spectators broke into spontaneous applause as each finalist was announced.

The Nine 2014 WesBank/SAGMJ Car of the Year Finalists are:

  •  Audi A3 Sportback  1,4 FSI
  • Jaguar F-Type 3,0 V6S
  • Lexus IS 350 F Sport
  •  Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG
  • Peugeot 208 GTI
  •  Porsche Cayman S
  • Renault Clio 4 66 kW Turbo
  • Volkswagen Golf 7 TSI 90 kW
  • Volvo V40 D3

The winner will be announced at a WesBank-hosted function in February 2014

Johannesburg Motor Show-Logo