Volkswagen Sasolracing team take the national rallying action to Gauteng


ROUND three of the South African National Rally Championship sees the Volkswagen Sasolracing team head off to Gauteng for their next round of competition. The trio of Volkswagen Sasolracing Polo S2000 entries will rally on Friday and Saturday, May 31 and June 1.

Volkswagen Rally

This event is the Toyota Dealer Rally Gauteng, comprising 11 stages and nearly 200 km of competition.

With just two rounds of national competition together in the Volkswagen Sasolracing team, Henk Lategan and Barry White have showed themselves capable of competing – and excelling – as part of a Works team. The pair won a stage of the Sasol Rally and finished seven others within the top five.

The Gauteng event will see the pair in action again, as they hunt for their first podium finish of the season.

Enzo Kuun and Douglas Judd pair up for just the second time this year at round three. Judd has stepped in to the navigator’s seat when Kuun’s long-time navigator Guy Hodgson retired earlier this year. The Sasol Rally was their first event together and they will work at the Gauteng event to extend their new partnership and grow together as a team.

Hergen Fekken and Pierre Arries finished the Sasol Rally by winning the final stage. The pair will be building on this performance at round three when they tackle 11 stages of competition over the two days. Fekken and Arries can make a significant impact on the overall points standings with a good performance at this event.

In the S2000 Challenge category the Volkswagen Sasolracing Polo Vivo of Gugu Zulu and Carl Peskin are putting up a spirited fight as they defend their title in this category. Currently they are fifth overall in the national standings and second in the Challenge category. The gap to first is just two points and the rally in Gauteng will see the pair focus on closing this gap.

For two days the Volkswagen Sasolracing team will be in top form, campaigning hard to stamp their authority on the event as they charge to the finish at the third round of the 2013 national rally championship.