Volkswagen Sasolracing Rally Team in 2014


The start of the 2014 national rally season in South Africa is a month away. There are eight rounds of competition, with the first event taking place in KwaZulu-Natal. The Volkswagen Sasolracing team will field three cars in the S2000 category, the top class of national rallying.

Sasol Racing

“For the Volkswagen Sasolracing team the competitor line-up this season has been carefully selected to create a strong and balanced challenge for the national championship,” says Mike Rowe, head of Volkswagen Motorsport. “We have made a careful selection of talent and experience to create a team that is young, energetic and holds significant promise for the future.”


Henk Lategan will again campaign a Volkswagen Sasolracing Polo S2000, building on his first season with the team where he proved himself a talented competitor. Pierre Arries will take up his place in the navigator seat alongside Lategan, creating a promising combination of talent and experience. Barry White, who played an important part in Lategan’s rapid growth as a rally racer last year, fulfills a non-competitive role with the Volkswagen Sasolracing team this season.


Joining Lategan and Arries will be Gugu Zulu and Carl Peskin who move up from the S2000 Challenge category, trading in their Volkswagen Sasolracing Polo Vivo S2000 Challenge entry for the action of the premier class.


The 2014 season sees the return of Hans Weijs Jnr and Björn Degandt who contested the 2012 season with the team. Weijs and Degandt will resume their competitive role with the team for the duration of the new season, travelling to South Africa for each round.


“Hans and Björn were very competitive from the start on unfamiliar territory and ended their year with us winning the Garden Route Rally,” says Rowe. “Their presence during the 2012 season gained the local rally championship a lot of attention from Europe. Returning to the field this year should provide another boost for our local profile and they will add diversity and interest to our championship.