Kart 411: Light blue touch paper — expect Junior Max fireworks this weekend - Pic Mark Zeeman Kart 3: Maxterino will deliver as always — image - Mark Zeeman

The second half of the Western Cape Karting Championship gets underway with the usual action and drama at the Killarney Kart Track Saturday 29 August with most classes locked in tight title battles.

Perhaps the most intriguing battle of the day will go down in the high school Rotax Junior Max 125cc races where only six points now separate Delano Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart) and Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) at the top of the table with a wild six-kart wrought building up behind between Jason Coetzee (Kosmic), Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Freight Kosmic), Dario Busi (Automan Birel), Giordano Lupini (AutoWeek CRG), Andrew Rackstraw (TonyKart) and JP Hamman (Kosmic); any of whom are quite capable of upsetting the applecart up front.

Things are closer than ever in the baby Cadet 80cc class where Valentino Hoffman (GP Topkart) jumped two places into a four-point championship lead over Joaquin De Oliveira (Topkart) last time out and both, Kyle Visser (Battery Energy Topkart) and Jason MacBeath (Topkart) still within 12 points of the championship lead. Paul Malcolm, Reese Koorzen, Mischa Williams and Reza Levy are among others capable of fighting it out up front.

Another close-fought chase is in the primary school Maxterino 60cc class, where Aidan Strydom (Turbo Tech Topkart) holds an eight-point lead over Charl Visser (Battery Zanardi) with Joseph Oelz (Clear/GoPro Zanardi) another two points adrift. Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic), Tate Bishop (Kosmic), Tyler Croy (Zanardi), Kai Van Zijl (CRG) and Simon Simpson-Heath (SAKRA Topkart) all also well within championship reckoning.

The Rotax DD2 gearbox class is another tight title race, with Umpie Swart (Indy Oil Birel) now the third driver to lead the title chase this year over reigning champion Jonathan Thomas (Partners CRG) and the dominant Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) keen to make up after missing last race to race to race in the Europe. Tristan de Nobrega (Kartsport CRG), Marco Busi (Automan/Topwatch CRG) and Masters driver Johan Hamman (Hammanshof Birel) will continue their tight fight for fourth in DD2.

Despite also missing the 125cc Max Challenge races last time out, Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) still holds a handy championship cushion over Henry Bam (SAKRA Kosmic), Isabelle Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart), Byron Mitchell (Dolphin CRG) and Christopher Vrettos (PCR) and occasional class drivers, Italian Lamborghini GT racer David Perel (Kartsport Zanardi) and wildcard last race winner Jurie Swart (Birel).

Kohen Bam (SAKRA FA) has built up an impressive X30 Shifter title lead over Jacques De Bruyn (Kosmic), but be sure that Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) and Luke Herring (RKT Kosmic) will be out make amends for difficult first halves of the season along with Henry Bam (SAKRA TonyKart) and Werner Grundlingh.

The Cape Clubmen are also involved in a tight title tussle with Class C driver Andrew Thomas (Blake Bros. Intrepid) holding a five-point championship lead over Class A leader Chris Vrettos (PCR). Top Class B men James Fraser, Harry Georgiou and Arnold du Toit are fighting it out for third overall in the Clubmans championship with class A lads Dayne Angel and Dylan Mitchell and Class C racer Philip Avenant.

Killarney is at 6 Potsdam Road Killarney Gardens and the kart track is situated across the main circuit from the main pit complex, where you can expect brilliant racing, a cool atmosphere, good commentary and great grub and drinks at the Kart Café in the pits. Adult entry is R60 per adult. R20 for under-16s and under-12s are free.

See you at the Killarney karts!