Published by Gerald Ferreira Date: May 30, 2012
Categories: General News

The winner of the coveted Best Automotive Campaign at the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) awards was named at a glitzy ceremony in London last night. Genesis PR took home the trophy for its Ford Retail campaign.

CIPR Awards 2012

In awarding the trophy, the CIPR judging panel said: “The judges felt this campaign demonstrated bread and butter PR at its best, delivering tangible results, with a low budget, resulting in measurable and cost-effective outcomes for the Ford Retail network. The on-going campaign focuses on Ford Retail dealer PR and CSR activity in local communities across the country, with significant buy-in from local media outlets which are relevant to the Ford Retail network and deliver footfall into the dealers.”

The glittering awards ceremony was hosted by Olympic medallist, World Champion and former World Record holder in the 110m hurdles, Colin Jackson. Star guests included Lord Coe KBE, who was awarded the CIPR's President's medal in recognition of his role in London’s successful bid for the Olympic Games, his subsequent outstanding leadership during the delivery phase of London 2012 and for his role as an ambassador for British sport

Congratulations to all of the 2012 Finalists, who included:

  • Focus PR - Rolls-Royce Motor Cars
  • Jaguar - Redefining Jaguar Cars
  • ŠKODA UK - Taking the Czech-ered Flag: The 227 mph Bonneville ŠKODA
  • Shine Communications with Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles - Launching the Amarok
  • The Co-operative Insurance - A Smart Solution for Young Drivers.

Newspress Managing Director Tim Barfoot was joined by What Car? Editor-in-chief Chas Hallett to present the trophy at the gala awards dinner in Park Lane, London, last night.

In association with the CIPR, Newspress has recognised excellence in automotive PR since 2010 and past winners of the prestigious award include Hyundai, for its Scrappage campaign in 2010 and Prova PR, which bagged the 2011 award for its work for Wales Rally GB.

To view the full list of winners at this year’s Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) Excellence Awards click the following