The Guild of Motoring Writers

The Guild of Motoring Writers is to feature in Rush, an exciting new film which will re-tell the story of the struggle for the 1976 Formula One World Championship between James Hunt and Niki Lauda. The movie, which starts filming this month, is being made by Ron Howard, who directed Apollo 13, The Da Vinci Code, A Beautiful Mind and Frost/Nixon.

Hunt was named as the Guild’s Driver of the Year in 1976 for winning the championship, but it is a scene set three years earlier, when he won his first Guild Driver of the Year award, that will be re-created in the film. That season was when Hunt first entered the Grand Prix Championship with the Hesketh racing team. In only his fourth race he finished third in Holland and ended the season with second place at the US GP. It was for his immediate impact on the F1 scene, despite being viewed by rivals as a party-loving amateur, that the Guild chose to honour him.

For the purpose of the 1973 trophy presentation scene, the Guild is loaning the film-makers a replica of its Driver of the Year trophy which carries the names of such Grand Prix heroes as Juan Manuel Fangio, Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart, Jim Clark, Stirling Moss, Mike Hawthorn, John Surtees, Jack Brabham, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton.

In 1976, Lauda (to be played in Rush by German actor Daniel Brühl) suffered horrendous burns when he crashed his Ferrari at the Nürburgring. Hunt (whose role is being taken by Australia’s Chris Hemsworth) eventually won the title by a single point when Lauda retired from the rain-soaked Japanese Grand Prix claiming it was too dangerous to continue.

The script for the film, which focuses on the relationship between Hunt and Lauda, has been penned by Peter Morgan, writer and executive producer of Frost/Nixon. Morgan also wrote the screenplay for Stephen Frears’ The Queen, for which he was nominated for an Oscar and a BAFTA. Rush will be released in 2013.