• 24 awards in total: £20,000-plus prize money
  • New award: SEAT Breakthrough Blogger of the Year
  • Refocused Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year prize now even more hotly contested

Guild of Motoring Writers awards winners 2011

Entries for the industry’s top motoring journalism awards are open – and you have until the end of September to submit your most outstanding pieces of work from the past year. The awards, which bring trophies, generous cash prizes and widespread industry recognition, are open to all Guild of Motoring Writers full and associate members. Several are non-member eligible as well – including, for the first time, the flagship Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year Award.

New for 2012 is the SEAT Breakthrough Blogger of the Year Award to recognise and promote talent in the blogging world. This is exclusivelyfor upcoming automotive bloggers of all ages who are not professional motoring writers.The winner receives two weeks’ loan of a test car plus an Apple iPad. Guild members are not eligible: to encourage professional blogging, their entries are considered in the Newspress New Media Award. Find out more about this, and all Guild prizes, on the entry form, which can be downloaded from

In order to truly recognise the finest automotive journalistic talent in the industry,the flagship Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year Award has been refocused for 2012 and is now open to both current and potential Guild members. Entrants will compete for the top three podium places, with the reward of generous cash prizes totaling £2,500 plus free Guild membership packages. These arepresented to those judged to have made the most outstanding journalistic efforts in any medium.

Further awards open to all journalists, Guild members or not, are the Cummins Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year Award (which brings a £600 prize) and the Mitsubishi Motors Award for Innovation in Regional Motoring Journalism (£1,000). Meanwhile, 2012 marks the 40th anniversary of the Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy, for the Guild member judged to have made the greatest contribution to recording the history of motoring or motorcycling in a published book. This carries a £1,500 reward. Prize money for the AA Environment and Peugeot Motorsport Awards has been increased by £500 each, to £1500 per accolade.

Further specialities catered for by The Guild Of Motoring Writers member-only awards include consumer, editing, classics, photography, overseas outlets, safety, technology, business and design – so whatever your field of expertise, there is a perfect prize category for you. There are also no fewer than three titles for young writers and/or students on Guild-supported university courses: HeadlineAuto Young Writer of the Year, Phil Llewellin Student Journalist of the Year and the Sir William Lyons Award.All entries can now be uploaded online, so you needn’t worry about photocopying or posting original print material.

GoMW Chairman Richard Aucock said: “The Guild awards are the perfect opportunity for writers to showcase their talents to the industry. Categories encompass many different areas of specialism, giving everyone an opportunity to take part. We’ve even streamlined the entry process: we appreciate how busy today’s writers are, so for 2012, it’s fully electronic. More categories, fewer barriers to entry: make sure you’re in the running by getting your entry in before the end of September…”

There are 24 awards and a total prize fund of more than £20,000 waiting to be claimed – but you must enter to be in with a chance of winning. Material published between 1 October 2011 and 30 September 2012 is eligible. The closing date is midnight on 30 September 2012. Entry forms are available to download from or from Honorary Secretary Chris Adamson at Winners will be announced at the annual Guild awards dinner, to take place at London’s RAC Club on 6 December 2012.