Team Ford Racing 2011 Champions

  • Team Ford Racing claimed the Class T Bridgestone Production Car Championship for 2011
  • Team Ford Racing claimed three victories at the final round of the championship on route to securing the title
  • Gary Formato crowned Class T champion, having secured 17 victories throughout the season

Ford Racing

Pretoria – 26 November 2011 – Team Ford Racing are the 2011 Class T Bridgestone Production Car Champions. The team claimed the championship honours after taking three race wins at the final round of the WesBank Super Series held at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday 26 November.

The team didn’t have things all their own way, with Volkswagen and Opel putting them through the paces throughout Friday’s practice sessions. This trend continued into Saturday with Gary Formato only managing to qualify his BP / Castrol Ford Focus ST in fifth place. Iain Pepper, behind the wheel of the team’s third car, claimed seventh on the grid with Shaun Duminy being forced to the back of the grid following a driving infringement at the previous event.


Despite the odds being stacked against them, the team showed grit and determination charging through the field. Formato crossed the finish line second, with Duminy claiming third and Pepper fourth.

The heat proved to get the better of many competitors in the second race, but Formato had no such problems taking his first race win of the day. Duminy was awarded third place, with Pepper retiring with technical gremlins.

Formato secured the championship title by winning race three and taking his victory tally to 17 for the year in the process. Duminy took another podium finish, crossing the line in second place, while Pepper flew the Ford flag high in fourth.


Duminy ended the season on a high note winning the final race of the day. Formato took second, with Pepper fourth.

“I am ecstatic with the result, a huge thank you to the team, sponsors, fans and Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa for their support throughout the season. I couldn’t have done it without their support,” enthused 2011 Class T Champion, Gary Formato.

“It was a tough year and we had to overcome many obstacles, but in the end, we had the winning package,” concluded Duminy who ended the season in fourth place in the championship.