Supercross Series AMA Monster Energy Weekend Recap



OAKLAND, Calif. (Saturday, Jan. 28, 2012) – Team Dodge rider Josh Hansen (No. 100 Dodge/Sycuan Casino/Hart and Huntington/Bel-Ray Racing Kawasaki) earned his fourth consecutive top-10 finish of the season in Saturday night’s AMA Monster Energy Supercross Series race at Coliseum. He was 10th in the 20-lap Main Event.

Teammate Kyle Partridge (No. 83 Dodge/Sycuan Casino/Hart and Huntington/Bel-Ray Racing Kawasaki used a strong Heat Race performance to start 11th in the Main Event, but was involved in a mishap on the first lap and retired in 20th position. Partridge suffered no major injury.

With Hart and Huntington teammates Josh Hill (broken left tibia) and Ivan Tedesco (broken right ring finger) sidelined due to injuries, Partridge and Hansen were the only two Team Dodge entries in Round Four of the 17-race series.

Hansen started 14th in the Main Event, but ran as high as third early and remained in the top 10 throughout the race. He had a career-best finish of seventh the previous week at Los Angeles.

“A solid finish on the No. 100 Dodge/Sycuan Casino/Hart and Huntington/Bel-Ray Racing Kawasaki tonight,” said Hansen. “The race went good for the results that we got. We struggled all day and could never get the bike right. I just didn’t have the comfort level that I needed today.

“I didn’t ride the best, but we managed to get another 10th-place ride and that’s good for the points. We’re still in the points running. It’s a long season. We’re looking for better results. My guys worked hard all day. We’ll take the finish and head down to Anaheim next weekend.”

James Stewart claimed the victory Saturday night, the fourth different winner in the first four races this year. The AMA Supercross Series returns to Anaheim next Saturday for Round Five in the 17-race series.

AMA Monster Supercross Series Coliseum — Oakland, Calif.

Saturday, Jan. 28, 2012

Round 4 of 17 Events

Supercross Race Final Results

  1. James Stewart
  2. Chad Reed
  3. Ryan Villopoto
  4. Ryan Dungey
  5. Andrew Short
  6. Kevin Windham
  7. David Millsaps
  8. Jake Weimer
  9. Justin Brayton
  10. Josh Hansen
  11. Mike Alessi
  12. Kyle Chisholm
  13. Broc Tickle
  14. Brett Metcalfe
  15. Nick Wey
  16. Cody Mackie
  17. Weston Peick
  18. Robert Kiniry
  19. Ben Lamay
  20. Kyle Partridge

Supercross Rider Point Standings

(After 4 of 17 events)

  1. Chad Reed 85 points
  2. Ryan Dungey 85
  3. Ryan Villopoto 83
  4. James Stewart 73
  5. Jake Weimer 61
  6. Kevin Windham 58
  7. Andrew Short 52
  8. Josh Hansen 47
  9. Brett Metcalfe 45
  10. Dave Millsaps 42
  11. Mike Alessi 38
  12. Justin Brayton 37
  13. Kyle Chisholm 34
  14. Broc Tickle 30
  15. Ivan Tedesco 21
  16. Nick Wey 16
  17. Trey Canard 14
  18. Weston Peick 10
  19. Kyle Partridge 10
  20. Chris Blose 9