Supercross 2012: Tyler Bowers Brings Momentum into Hometown Race as 2012 AMA Arenacross Series Debuts from Lexington’s Rupp Arena


A new winner stood atop the podium last Friday night as Team Faith KTM’s Kelly Smith became the fourth different rider to claim victory during the 2012 AMA Arenacross Series. The veteran rider’s triumph helped kick off two nights of action for the inaugural Cedar Park race, but by the end of the weekend, it was Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Tyler Bowers who left Texas with all the momentum.

Bowers, the reigning AMA Arenacross Series Champion and current Arenacross Class points leader, grabbed his ninth win of the season on Saturday to close out the weekend and extend his advantage to 16 points over FMF Power/Poynt TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson. Now, the championship heads to another new venue, Lexington, Ky., and Rupp Arena, for one night of action this Saturday, February 4.

Bowers experienced a rare falter on the first evening of competition last weekend, but despite being forced to work his way through a talented field of riders, he still salvaged a third-place finish, losing just two points to Gibson, who finished second.

The following night, Bowers bounced back in resounding fashion, taking the holeshot and leading wire-to-wire to still walk away from Cedar Park with a point in his favor towards the championship after Gibson posted another runner-up effort.

The AMA Arenacross Series enters its final month of competition this weekend inside Rupp Arena. The state of Kentucky is no stranger to the sport of Arenacross, and with Bowers’ hometown of Danville a mere 35 miles from Lexington, fans are sure to come out in droves to support their tremendously successful local star.

As the premier class title fight continues to soldier on, a champion will be crowned on Saturday night in the Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Championship, which will host its 2012 season finale inside Rupp Arena. Motostar Kawasaki’s Michael McDade has established himself as the favorite heading into the weekend, by virtue of consistent efforts and one victory, throughout the course of the nine main events.

McDade currently holds a 17-point lead over Dragon Racing Fuels/AG Motorsports KTM’s Michael Willard, the winningest rider in the Eastern Region.

The AMA Arenacross Series will make its debut from Rupp Arena on Saturday, February 4, with opening ceremonies beginning at 7 p.m. ET.