Successful Free State Extreme Festival Visit


THE 2013 Extreme Festival of motorsport paid the Free State Phakisa Raceway a successful visit on Saturday, June 22.
A record entry of more than 150 cars and motorcycles entertained a surprisingly large crowd to the full.

Free State Racing

@ The bill-topping Extreme Supercar races saw 19 exotic vehicles take to the tarmac.

Phakisa’s long back straight and sweeping curves suited the V10-engined Vaal Fluids Dodge Viper ACRX of Charl Arrangies down to the tarmac, and he led the opening race from lights to chequered flag.

He was followed by Johan Engelbrecht (Porsche GT2R), Dawie Joubert (Porsche GT3), Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Ferrari 430), Jaki Scheckter (Liqui Moly Ferrari 430) and Deon du Plessis (X-Cars KTM X-Bow RR).

Arrangies duplicated his victory the second time out, but Engelbrecht’s Porsche succumbed to technical bothers two laps from the end.

That left Dawie Joubert in the second place, ahead of Franco Scribante (Remos Ferrari 430), Nicky Dicks (Pinnacle Turbines Porsche GT3), Deon du Plessis and Jonathan du Toit.

@ The opening Hankook Formula Vee heat produced a race-long slipstreaming battle between the top four contestants, with the front places changing hands on every one of the 10 laps.

Eventually Scott Temple won in his Ferodo Rhema 2, narrowly ahead of Alan Holm (Laserprint Rhema 2), Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Rhema 2) and Johan Gouws (Afrihost Mantis).

Symm Grobler (Rhema) and Trystan Alford (CG Print Rhema 2) filled out the top six.

Free State Extreme Festival

Greg Wilson won an equally close second race from Scott Temple, Alan Holm and Johan Gouws, with Symm Grobler and Henk Swanepoel (Renexon Rhema 2) taking the fifth and sixth places, respectively.

@ Reigning champion Stewart MacLeod dominated both Red Square Kawasaki Masters Cup races on his SEW Eurodrive ZX10R, followed by Brian Bontekoning (Jaguar Power ZX10R) and Pieter de Vos (Silverton Bolts ZX10R).

Kyle Robinson (Tech Group ZX10R), Johan le Roux (Avidan ZX10R) and Tony Klem (Frontier Diamonds ZX10R) filled out the top six places in race one.

In race two, Johan le Roux finished fourth, beating Kyle Robinson and Robbie Breakspear (Super Sport Gearbox ZX10R).

@ The 200 kilometre long Goldwagen Super Hatch/ Sports and Saloon car race was won overall by the Nissan Primera Touring Car of veteran tin-top racer George Bezuidenhout.

He finished ahead of Joel Silva/ Ricky Giannocarro (BMW) and Thouca Mechanicos (G&H Transport BMW M3).

Fourth overall, winning the Super Hatch category, were Hilton van Niewenhuizen/ Brett Garland (ASAP Peugeot 206), ahead of Ishmail Baloyi /Ryan Quan Chai (TAR Honda Civic) and Pierre/ Jaco Lubbe (Peugeot 207).

@ Nico van der Merwe (Gerrock Honda CBR) won the TK Imports Brunch Run Challenge overall, ahead of Mark Myburgh (BHP TK Honda) and Dale Nieuwenhuys (Tech Group Honda).

The day’s Masters victory went to JB Schoeman (Tysica Kawasaki), beating Donald Prout Jones (Nine-D Honda) and Dave May (Think Bike Aprillia).

Meanwhile Mary Ellen Carmody (Triumph Daytona) won the Ladies’ category overall, leading home Jeanine du Rand (Suzuki GSXR) and Cydney Farinha (Triumph Daytona).