Share on :

    •  New WRX continues Subaru safety tradition

  • Subaru now holds more Top Safety Pick Awards than any other brand

  • IIHS Top Safety Pick Award represents highest safety levels


With exactly one week to go before the all-new Subaru WRX makes its South African debut, the 2014 Subaru WRX and WRX STI have been awarded the 2014 Top Safety Pick Award by US crash test giant, the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS), for good performance in each of the Institute’s crashworthiness evaluations, including the small overlap front test. This is the first time that WRX and WRX STI have been rated by IIHS, and the rating serves as a continuation of what has become a traditional award for the Subaru brand.

With the addition of the 2014 WRX, Subaru now has six models that have earned 2014 safety awards from IIHS – three with Top Safety Pick and three with Top Safety Pick+ ratings including its Legacy sedan and Outback models with optional EyeSight®. Subaru has more 2014 IIHS Top Safety Picks than any other brand.

The Subaru WRX with Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive™ forms the base of the brand’s halo performance model line and comes standard with a 2.0-litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine (197 kW), mated to a six-speed manual transmission as standard – with Subaru’s Sport Lineartronic™ CVT also available. Safety equipment includes seven airbags, ABS with EBD and BAS, VDC (Vehicle Dynamics Control), ESC (Electronic Stability Control), TCS with LSD (Traction Control System with Limited Slip Device), ISOFIX child seat anchors and Subaru’s Ring-Shaped Reinforcement™ body structure, incorporating the use of super-high-strength steel which dissipates energy during a crash.


“Safety is one of our brand tenets and we are extremely proud to have earned a Top Safety Pick rating for our performance models,” says Subaru Southern Africa Marketing Manager, Ashley Lazarus. “We are committed to providing engaging driving together with safety and this award is testament to that commitment.”

Latest News

Read more about the latest news

Zip Charge


London, 07 July 2022 ZipCharge, the pioneer in portable energy and EV charging, today announced that over 10,000 people have registered to pre-order a Go portable EV power bank when they

Breyten Odendaal

7 July, 2022

Mazda Annual All Stars Awards

Mazda Annual All-Stars Celebration

Mazda has recognised the top performing dealerships, across the sales and aftersales departments in its annual All-Stars awards. Now in its third year, the awards celebrate the top 25 Sales

Breyten Odendaal

7 July, 2022

Polestar Auto Design Contest

Polestar Auto 2022 Design Contest

Polestar, the Swedish electric performance car brand led by CEO and renowned car designer Thomas Ingenlath, launches its 2022 vision of future mobility Design Contest under the theme of ‘Performance’. Launched

Breyten Odendaal

7 July, 2022

© 2022 -

Main address: 11 Scafell Road 1709 Gauteng, South Africa