Spectacular Motorcycle Racing At Zwartkops


Ultra close competition, spectacular crashes and unexpected winners typified rounds 13 and 14 of the 2013 South African Motorcycle Racing championship at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday (August 31).

Motorcycle Racing

The opening Superbike race became expensive, with extremely windy conditions contributing to a number of high speed misadventures.

The first lap saw Brian Bontekoning step off his Jaguar Power Products Kawasaki on the circuit’s Table Top.

Half a lap later, Richard Carmody (Trojan Kawasaki) and Jannie Odendaal (Fourways Motors Kawasaki) touched at some 190 km/h in the back straight and crashed heavily.

Both riders escaped serious injury but the race was red-flagged to clear up the wreckage.

After the restart Clinton Seller (Czank Kawasaki) and Nicolas Grobler (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki) fought for the lead, but it came to a halt when Chris Leeson parted company with his Motorrad BMW in the back straight, causing another race stoppage.

The results were announced, reverting to the previous lap.

Then Seller was docked 30 seconds for a jump start, leaving Grobler to win from Ryan Ottens (Motorrad BMW) and Chris Leeson, plus Brother Yamaha riders Dylan White and Robert Portman.

Seller made no mistakes in race two and he led from start to finish, with Grobler shadowing him closely throughout.
In the end, Seller won the race by a fifth of a second, leading home Grobler, Ottens, Portman and Ryan van Aswegen (Gem Auto Kawasaki).

Veteran Lance Isaacs (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki) won the first 600 Supersport heat after a race long dice with club racing graduate Anthony Shelley (Full Throttle Kawasaki) and Cam Petersen (Liqui Moly MV Agusta).

The three riders were covered by half a second over the finish line, followed by Brent Harran (Liqui Moly MV Agusta), Nicholas Kershaw (RaceBike Rental Kawasaki) and Dean Vos (Brother Yamaha).

Isaacs led the second race as well, but picked up handling maladies halfway through.

That left a delighted Anthony Shelley to score his first national championship race victory ahead of Petersen, Harran, Kershaw, Vos and Isaacs.

The next round of the 2013 South African Motorcycel racing championship will take place at the Western Cape Killarney circuit on Saturday, October 5.