Single Seater Racing South Africa


Scribante proves a tough day of racing for single-seater field


THE South African Single Seater (SASS) field raced round three of the Super Series at Aldo Scribante Raceway in Port Elizabeth on Saturday. Defending champion Robert Wolk (1 – Midas / Chemical Logistics / ATE) showed a return to form in this event, dominating completely.

Wolk stepped up to the challenge immediately qualifying in pole for both races and going on to win each race as well. ”

Nicholas van Weely (87 – Anglorand) started off his weekend a bit slow, qualifying in third place but improving on this when it counted most to finish in second place for both race one and two.

Wesleigh Orr (130 – Hollard) improved on his pace in the Formula Volkswagen series qualifying second for each of the races, but could not fend off Van Weely’s pace and slipped to third in each of the races.


The highlight of the Formula Volkswagen races for the weekend was actually at the back of the field in race one. While the serious business of gathering points was happening up front, the last two racers, Duvall Maritz (34 – Investchem) and Dewald Brummer (38 – Investchem) were battling for track position, enjoying tough competition.

In class A of the Midas Formula 1600 Keegan Campos (2 – Hollard Insurance) proved the quickest man in qualifying, grabbing pole position starts for both races. Campos went on to win the first race and close the championship gap to Scott Temple (3 – Investchem) to just two points. In race two Temple turned the tables on Campos to claim victory in the closing stages of the race, adding a cushion of two extra points to his championship lead.

Graham Hepburn (4 – Suburban Body Shop) put himself on the podium with two third-place finishes on the day. The second race saw action between Dean Venter (77 – Turnfab Engineering), Eugene Denyssen (20 – SAKRA / Uniref), Andrew Horne (33 – Xena Chemicals / Investchem) and Bevan Williams (36 – Bocal Africa / Rightway Auto Electrical) as they fought for fourth place.

It was Venter that claimed that sought-after fourth place with Denyssen, Horne and Williams taking up fifth, sixth and seventh spot.


Class B of the Midas Formula 1600 saw Ian Schofield (9 – Investchem) leading the pack in qualifying with Rick Morris (8 – Investchem) hard on his heels with Allen Meyer (15) the third quickest.

Race one went to Schofield with Meyer claiming second spot and Andreas Petrou (17 – Investchem) claiming third. Morris suffered a misfire in the first race which saw him lose ground on the others with each passing lap. Race two again saw Schofield claim the win with Morris taking second and Petrou third across the line.