SAGMJ elects new Executive Committee


Danie van Jaarsveld

Sandton. The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) has elected a new Executive Committee at its 2013 Annual General Meeting, held on Monday, 24 June 2013, at the Toyota South Africa Auditorium in Sandton, Johannesburg.

Christo Valentyn will head up the SAGMJ Executive Committee for 2013/2014 as Chairman, after being proposed by Jannie Hennop and seconded by Eugene Herbert, Bernard Hellberg and Brent Ellis. Although Danie van Jaarsveld was proposed and seconded for the position of Chairman, which he has filled since 2008, he has informed the Committee that he would not be available for re-election due to a change in the amount of time he has available for this function. Following the election of Christo Valentyn as Chairman, Danie van Jaarsveld becomes President of the SAGMJ.

Bernie Hellberg, Eugene Herbert and Gerrie Smit was re-elected to serve on the Committee and will join Aurelia Mbokazi, Liana Reiners and Richard Webb, who are entering their second year of office without needing nominations. Leo Kok continues to be co-opted by the Committee as treasurer, while Malcolm Kinsey remains the region representative for KwaZulu-Natal. Gerrie Smit also remains the regional representative for the Western Cape.

In addition, Malcolm Kinsey was nominated for Fellowship of the Guild, and members in attendance at the AGM unanimously accepted the proposal. Nominated by Gavin Foster and seconded by Peta Lee, Malcolm has for almost a quarter of a century painstakingly compiled his annual Kinsey Report on automotive spares pricing. “He must have over this period saved the motorist – the only reason the industry exists – many, many hundreds of millions of rand while keeping the manufacturers and importers a little more honest than they would perhaps have chosen to have been. He keeps the motorist informed so he or she can make the right decisions when buying a car, and provided us, the media, with acres of much-read copy over the years. He’s also helped the industry players keep an eye on what their competitors are doing as well as kept the flag flying as the KZN representative on the SAGMJ Committee for many years,” commented Foster.

Outgoing Chairman of the Guild, Danie van Jaarsveld, delivered his Chairman’s Report for 2012, while Guild Treasurer, Leo Kok, informed members of the Guild’s financial status. Those in attendance unanimously accepted both reports.