Motor racing truly came alive at the Zwartkops Raceway, west of Pretoria, over the weekend 27-29 January with the staging of the annual classic race meeting, this time under the banner of Passion for Speed.

    Zwartkops Raceway Motor

    Not only were there hundreds of competitors, a crowd of over 12 000 people on the Saturday and close racing, but the cheering support, arm-waving and standing applause of the spectators made for a pulsating and memorable race meeting.

    Castrol, the premium lubricant supplier, was once again a strong supporter of this ever-popular annual event, as befits a company that has been involved in motor sport virtually since its founding more than 100 years ago.

    Zwartkops Raceway Motor Classic

    The company sponsored two exciting races for Pre-1974 International Sports Racing Prototypes and Castrol was also the naming sponsor for the two impressive demonstrations by Formula 1 cars and other major single-seater racers of the past.

    The cars included the ex-Michael Schumacher Benetton B194 Ford, which was driven by Dutchman Jan Lammers, and the 1965 BRM P261 fitted with a 2-litre V8 Tasman Series engine and driven by Le Mans winner Richard Attwood.

    Classic Zwartkops

    The two races for international sports prototypes were David and Goliath battles between the light and nimble 1969 Chevron B19 of John Sheldon, of Britain, and the huge, dark green 1969 Lola T70 driven with much skill by South African Hennie Groenewald, who received a special award as Driver of the Day.

    Unfortunately a loose wheel on the Lola resulted in its retirement from the first heat, which allowed Sheldon to romp to a clear victory, followed by Jonathan du Toit in a Chevron B8. Groenewald turned the tables in the second race and took the win after the race was red-flagged as the rain started falling and the cars began to spin and skid on their slick tyres.

    Zwartkops Motor Classic

    Sheldon won overall on combined results for the two races though, with Andre Bezuidenhout (1974 Martini Porsche) taking runner-up spot from Peter Bailey (1970 Porsche 917).

    Colin Frost (Lucky Strike Porsche 917) won Class B, with Brian Algar (1974 Porsche 911 RS) collecting the honours in Class C, while Carel Pienaar (1969 Chevrolet Camaro) was the only finisher in Class E.