Mercedes-Benz Petronas

Date Tuesday 7 February 2012
Track Circuito de Jerez
Driver Nico Rosberg / Michael Schumacher
No of Laps 56 laps / 42 laps
Best Lap Time 1:20.219 / 1:20.794
Kms Covered 248 kms / 186 kms
Track Length 4.428 kms
Weather Sunny

Mercedes-Benz Petronas

MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS began its 2012 testing programme in Jerez today, using the team’s 2011 car, the MGP W02.

  • Nico tested during the morning while Michael was in the car for the afternoon
  • Both drivers completed a set-up programme which focused on learning about the behaviour of the 2012 Pirelli tyres
  • The reliable 2011 car also allowed the team to accumulate valuable mileage on a number of test items for the 2012 season

Michael will continue the test programme tomorrow, with Nico in action again on Thursday. Nico Rosberg “We made a very good start to our testing programme today and completed 56 laps this morning. I was driving the 2011 car, so it felt comfortable straightaway. We tested some different things in perfect weather conditions and started learning about the 2012 Pirelli tyres and how they work. I was really happy to be out on track in my Mercedes and I know that, back at the factory, our development of the new car is running according to our plan.”

Michael Schumacher “After a long break, it feels terrific being back in the car and hitting the circuit again. Our main job was to get a first impression of the tyres for 2012 and to start understanding them. They feel like a step forward, more consistent and comfortable to drive, and the biggest difference is with the rear tyre. Thanks to everybody at Pirelli for their good job this winter. Let’s see what we can learn tomorrow.” TIMES

Pos Driver Car Time Laps
1. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:19.670 75
2. Paul Di Resta Force India 1:19.772 101
3. Nico Rosberg MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS 1:20.219 56
4. Mark Webber Red Bull 1:20.496 53
5. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:20.694 57
6. Michael Schumacher MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS 1:20.794 42
7. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:21.353 105
8. Jenson Button McLaren 1:21.530 62
9. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:22.815 69
10. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:23.178 28
11. Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:23.371 25
12. Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:23.676 44