Mercedes-Benz Maximilian Götz New Champion of the Blancpain Sprint Series 2014

  • Maximilian Buhk wins runner-up position
  • HTP Motorsport wins vice championship
  • Second and third position for Buhk and Götz in the GT Series


This Sunday, Maximilian Götz won the title of the Blancpain Sprint Series 2014. His team colleague Maximilian Buhk ended the race as vice champion. The German driver duo in the SLS AMG GT3 of HTP Motorsport with start number 84 achieved three victories in this season and confidently holds a first and second position in the ranking, with respectively 142 and 126 points ahead of the third positioned. HTP Motorsport won the vice title of the Blancpain Sprint Series team ranking.

The Blancpain GT Series is the ranking comprising the whole series, Sprint Series and Endurance Series. In the Blancpain GT Series, Maximilian Buhk lost the leading championship position in the final race in Baku. In the eighth position, he suffered an accident which was not self-inflicted. This denied his chances of winning the championship title. They concluded the ranking with Buhk winning the vice title and Götz winning the third position. HTP Motorsport achieved the vice championship in the team ranking.

Fortec Motorsport with Miguel Toril (ESP) and Benji Hetherington (GBR) won the Blancpain Sprint Series Silver Cup in the finals in Baku. The GT Russian Team with the drivers Alexey Vasiliev (RUS) and Marko Asmer (EST) came home with the Blancpain Sprint Series Pro-AM Trophy. The SLS AMG GT3 of the AMG customer team Zakspeed with Alon Day (ISR) and Andreas Simonsen (SWE) finished the main race on the tenth position. The race gullwing of HTP Motorsport with start number 85, driven by Sergei Afanasiev (RUS) and Stef Dusseldorp (NED) had to end the main race ahead of time. Due to damages from an accident in the qualifying race, the sister car with Lucas Wolf and Luca Stolz (both GER) with start number 86 was impeded to start in the main race.

Maximilian Götz, HTP Motorsport:

“I am extremely happy about winning the championship in the Blancpain Sprint Series. The season was demanding and the competition extremely narrow. I want to thank the team of HTP Motorsport and my team colleague Maximilian Buhk. Unfortunately, I was pushed against the wall today and had to end the race ahead of time with a defective wheel suspension. Consequently, Maximilian Buhk was not able to defend his leading position in the championship in the Blancpain GT Series. I am happy about having won two driver’s titles in three years and, additionally, the 1000 kilometres race at Nürburgring and the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps – and having achieved all of these successes with the SLS AMG GT3. The mechanics of HTP Motorsport did a great job during the whole year. In the GT Masters, the 24 Hours of Spa, at Nürburgring as well as in the Blancpain GT Series.”


Jochen Bitzer, head of AMG Customer Sports:

“My congratulations to Maximilian Götz, who won the championship title in the Blancpain Sprint Series with the help of his team colleagues Maximilian Buhk and Nico Verdonck. Unfortunately, HTP Motorsport did not win the team championship by a very narrow margin. However, the team concluded the strong season of 2014 with a good second position. The Blancpain Series is one of the hardest GT championships worldwide. Due to this fact, we are especially proud of the good results and want to thank the customer teams and the drivers for their commitment in this race series. In the fourth year of his race career, the SLS AMG GT3 continues to convince trough his reliability and performance. My congratulations to Belgian Audi Club Team WRT for their victory in today’s race and the championship title in the Blancpain GT Series team ranking.”

An overview of the results of the race*:

Position Start number Vehicle/team Driver Laps
1. 1 Audi R8 LMS Ultra/Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Cesar Ramos, Laurens Vanthoor 39
2. 107 Aston Martin Vantage GT3/ Beechdean AMR Jonathan Adam, Andy Soucek 39
3. 6 Audi R8 LMS Ultra/Phoenix Racing Niki Mayr-Melnhof, Markus Winkelhock 39
4. 9 Audi R8 LMS Ultra/Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Stephane Richelmi, Stephane Ortelli 39
5. 36 Porsche 997 GT3 R/

Schütz Motorsport

Martin Ragginger, Marco Holzer 39
6. 16 McLaren MP4-12C/Boutsen Ginion Racing Chris van der Drift, Frederic Vervisch 39
7. 60 McLaren MP4-12C/Bhaitech Fabio Onidi, Giorgio Pantano 39
8. 112 Corvette Z06 G/Callaway – RWT David Jahn, Sven Barth 39
9. 20 BMW Z4/BMW Sports Trophy Team Brasil Rodrigo Sperafico, Ricardo Sperafico 38
10. 13 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3/Zakspeed Alon Day, Andreas Simonsen 38

*subject to the confirmation of the organiser

An overview of the class results*:

Position Start number Vehicle/team Driver Class
1. 63 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3/Fortec Motorsport Miguel Toril, Benji Hetherington Silver Cup
1. 177 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3/GT Russian Team Alexey Vasiliev, Marko Asmer Pro-AM Trophy

*subject to the confirmation of the organiser