The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, has won a prestigious award for his efforts in promoting electric vehicles. The world’s largest network of professional motor industry communicators, MIPAA Limited, presents its annual Chairman’s Award to recognise an outstanding contribution to public relations. The accolade has previously been received by Robert Llewellyn, Chris Evans, Ken Gibson, Lord March, Ewan McGregor / Charlie Boorman, and Jeremy Clarkson.

    Accepting the award on his behalf Kulveer Ranger, the Mayor’s director of Environment, said: “Bringing electric vehicles to the capital is a key part of the Mayor’s goal of delivering cleaner air for London.

    “We will have 1,300 charge points in the capital by 2013 through our Source London network, making electric motoring even more accessible to drivers, and ultimately aim to ensure no Londoner is more than a mile from a charge point.

    “The Mayor’s determination over the last four years to support this clean, green technology has enabled us to achieve significant mileage in pushing both manufacturers and Government to deliver cars and policies that have put London and Britain well on the way to electric vehicle motoring.”

    MIPAA Chairman, Al Clarke praised the Mayor’s leadership in championing electric vehicles:

    “As Mayor of London, Boris Johnson has increased the profile of electric vehicles and promoted the benefits they can bring in modern cities. His pioneering and practical approach has boosted interest in this exciting period in electric vehicle motoring and enabled other cities to gain from London’s lead. The MIPAA Chairman’s Award is due recognition of the Mayor’s commitment to supporting sustainable transport.”

    The MIPAA Chairman’s Award was founded in 2002 and is presented annually at the discretion of the Executive Committee for an outstanding contribution to public relations. Previous winners include:

    • Robert Llewelyn (2010), actor, comedian, writer and electric vehicle advocate for his enthusiasm via social media for electric vehicles.
    • Chris Evans (2009), in recognition for his passion and love of motoring on BBC Radio 2 – as well as raising over £1 million for Children in Need in 2008 and 2009.
    • Ken Gibson (2008), motoring editor, The Sun, for his ability to make motor industry news relevant and interesting for millions of readers.
    • Lord March (2007) in acknowledgement of the success of the Goodwood Festival of Speed and Revival events which attract hundreds of thousands of motoring enthusiasts.
    • Johnnie Walker (2006), Radio presenter in recognition of his support for motorists, motorcyclists and truckers during his career, most recently on BBC Radio 2.
    • Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman (2005) for popularising motorcycling through their Long Way Round global touring challenge
    • Jeremy Clarkson (2004) for his unique journalistic style presenting motoring on BBC television’s Top Gear, the magazine of the same name and the Sunday Times