Category: Motorcycles
Tags: Racing

motorcycle racing

Varied winners, close finishes and brilliant riding displays typified rounds three and four of this year’s South African Motorcycle racing championships at the Western Cape Killarney raceway on Saturday (March 16).

motorcycle racing

The opening Unlimited Superbike race saw Clinton Seller on pole position with his Portable Shade Kawasaki.  He shared the front row of the grid with Chris Leeson (Motorrad BMW), Nicholas Grobler (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki) and Ryan Ottens (Motorrad BMW).

Seller and Grobler proceeded to fight for the lead throughout the ten-lap race, often arriving at the end of the back straight side by side at over 280 km/h.  In the end, Seller crossed the finish line five hundredths of a second ahead of his adversary.  Leeson finished third, leading home local hero Robert Slamet (Kawasaki), Ottens and Dylan White (Emtek Yamaha).

A notable casualty was Capetonian Aran van Niekerk, who fell off his Stunt SA Kawasaki while disputing a top five placing.  Race two saw Clinton Seller outbrake himself into the first corner, with the resultant trip through Killarney’s flora dropping him to stone last.  He scythed through the field in demented fashion, rejoining the front group on the eighth lap.

Killarney Motorcycle Racing

Then Chris Leeson ran wide after the pit straight, letting Seller through into second place.  He tried to catch Grobler but the youngster kept a cool head, rode without mistakes and took his first Unlimited Superbike victory.  Leeson finished second, chased by a brilliant Aran van Niekerk on his Kawasaki, Ryan Ottens, Allan-Jon Venter (Emtek Yamaha) and a recovered Chris Leeson.

The first 600 Supersport race was won in brilliant fashion by Capetonian veteran Lance Isaacs, on his Pta North Toyota Kawasaki.

He finished narrowly ahead of Liqui Moly MV Agusta riders Cam  Petersen and Brent Harran.

Fourth was Nicolas Kershaw (Race Bike Rentals Kawasaki), followed by Dean Vos (Emtek Yamaha) and local youngster Brandon Haupt (Suzuki).  Harran’s MV developed a handling problem in race two.  He first dropped out of contention and then crashed, leaving Petersen and Isaacs to fight for the race victory.

Petersen eventually won from Isaacs by less than half a second.   Third was Nicolas Kershaw, ahead of Dean Vos, Jesse Boshof (Racebike Rentals Kawasaki) and Rhyno Stander (Kawasaki). The next round of the 2013 South African Motorcycle championships will take place at the eastern Cape Aldo Scribante circuit on Saturday, April 6.

Comments are closed

Triumph Motorcycles to sponsor Distinguished Gentleman’s Ride
BMW Motorrad USA To Join Celebrity Panel Supporting Women Riders At Sturgis Buffalo Chip
GSX-R1000 Suzuki Motorcycle expected in South Africa by end 2016
BMW Motorrad – Concept eRR Motorcycle
The new BMW G 310 R Motorcycle
Fourth place start for Honda Endurance Racing at the Bol d’Or
Pata Honda: Smith returns to World Supersport action in Spain
BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Female Team
D-AIR Misano 1000. The Future Of Protection Is In D-AIR
Phakisa Freeway 2015 DEOD SuperGP Champions Trophy

3D Car Shows on Google+

3D Car Shows on Youtube

3D Car Shows YouTube