The Guild Of Motoring Writers

    The best motoring journalists in the business were honoured at The Guild of Motoring Writers’ annual Dinner and Awards at the RAC, Pall Mall, London, on Thursday 1 December.

    The exciting event at the exclusive venue saw Guild members welcome sponsors, members of the automotive public relations industry plus up-and-coming writers, along with motorsport stars, to mark the presentation of awards to outstanding GoMW journalists and photographers for their work undertaken in 2011.

    The Guild Of Motoring Writers Awards 2011 winners

    Each winner received a cash prize and trophy – and Commended citations were made in many categories as well. Prize money totalled more than £23,000.

    The Guild Of Motoring Writers Awards 2011

    The Guild also presented its prestigious Driver and Rider of the Year awards, chosen by the Guild’s own motorsport experts. These went to Le Mans LMP2 Champion Tom Kimber-Smith and World Supersports Champion Chaz Davies respectively. In recognition of his lifelong commitment to motorsport and safety, Sir Jackie Stewart – once described by the Guild’s own Murray Walker as ”the greatest racing personality of all time” – received the President’s Trophy.

    The Guild Of Motoring Writers Awards

    In recognition of their outstanding support of the Guild over the years, new Friends of the Guild were announced: VW’s Paul Buckett, Kia’s Steve Kitson, P&O’s Chris Laming, Skoda’s Cathie Sleigh and the SMMT’s Janet Wilkinson. For the same reason, Lord Montagu was made an Honorary Member of the GoMW.

    The Guild Of Motoring Writers Awards

    The evening’s most coveted prize, the Renault UK/GoMW Journalist of the Year award, bestowed on the Guild member judged to have made the most outstanding journalistic effort in any medium during the past 12 months, went to David Williams for his dexterity in raising awareness and the ability to engage his readership on a variety of issues, mainly in the pages of The Daily Telegraph motoring supplement.

    The 2011 Guild Of Motoring Writers Awards