The Guild of Motoring Writers

Guild of Motoring Writers member Philip Porter has been awarded the first-ever Motorsports Book of the Year title in the latest prestigious annual British Sports Book Awards.

Motorsports Book of the Year

Philip’s book Ultimate E-type – The Competition Cars was chosen after a survey of Guild members requesting feedback on their favourite motorsports titles of 2011. Nearly 100 responses were received, with 47 individual titles listed. Guild membership was not a prerequisite of author nomination and did not influence the final decision. Philip’s winning title received almost double the votes of any other title. It was also the unanimous favourite of the final judging panel – the GoMW’s Motorsports Sub Committee.

Winner Philip said: “I am thrilled to have won this special award. It makes all the hard work and long hours worthwhile! It was a team effort and I had fantastic support from drivers, owners, team personnel, restorers, colleagues and photographers. This success just illustrates the emotional pull of the stunning E-type Jaguar.”

GoMW Chairman Richard Aucock added: “Philip’s book was a clear winner. This is the first time the Guild has been involved with the British Sports Book Awards and we are delighted the inaugural prize has gone to such an impressive title.”

Other shortlisted books by both Guild members and non-members were Audi R8 – WSC Giants by Ian Wagstaff; Driven by Desire – The Desiré Wilson Story by Alan Wilson; Driving on the Edge: The Art and Science of Race Driving by Michael Krumm; McLaren – The Wins by David Tremayne; and Porsche at Le Mans: Sixty Years of Porsche Participation in the World’s Greatest Motor Race by Glen Smale.

Further categories in the 10th BSBA awards include Autobiography/Biography of the Year, Cricket, Football, Horse Racing, Rugby, Golf and Illustrated Books of the Year, New Writer of the Year and Best Publicity Campaign. Meanwhile, Nick Hornby was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing.

All category winners were announced at the BSBA’s star-studded black-tie dinner at The Savoy in London on 21 May. All are in with a shot of winning the Overall British Sports Book of the Year Award – which will be determined by an online public vote. Each winning title will be promoted in a media and retail campaign in the run-up to Father’s Day. The public vote will be held on the official website – britishsportsbookawards.co.uk – and the overall winner will be announced on 11 June 2012.