A wet second Superbike practice at the North West 200 means that Tuesday’s dry lap times still stand and Honda TT Legends’ John McGuinness will start Ireland’s most famous road race from second on the grid. His team-mate and NW200 newcomer Simon Andrews will begin from 19th.

North West 200

After a morning of consistent rain, the Superbike riders took to the 8.9 mile triangle circuit with caution this afternoon. The hour-long session ended with McGuinness at the top of the timesheet while Andrews was not far behind in third. The two Superbike races will go ahead on Saturday 19 May with the starting positions determined by the times recorded during the dry session on Tuesday.

John McGuinness The grid positions from Tuesday still stand, so that puts us on the front row of the grid. I was out there in the wet splashing around this afternoon and we were fastest, which is unusual for me. I’m normally dithering around like an old nurse in the wet! I got a good feel for it so we’re in the hunt and I’m looking forward to Saturday now. I just hope the sun shines.

Simon Andrews There was no way to improve on our times today so we concentrated on set-up instead. We made some changes to the bike to make me feel more comfortable and I knew we were going in the right direction. I was up in second behind John and I just got knocked down to third at the end there. To be running those times and at that position in the wet was good and hopefully I can build on that to be the same in the dry. The more track time I have the better I go, so I’m looking forward to Saturday.

Following a low-speed crash in the first Superstock practice on Tuesday, Gary Johnson completed today’s session to qualify 41st for this evening’s race, which will start at 18.15.

North West 200 – 2012 schedule

Thursday 17 May Racing Roads close 5.30pm to 9.00pm 18.15 Superstock race 1 19.00 Supertwin race

Saturday 19 May Racing Roads close 10.00 am to 6.30pm Racing commences at 11.00am Race schedule:

  1. Supersport race 1
  2. Superbike race 1
  3. Superstock race 2
  4. Supersport race 2
  5. NW 200 Superbike race