Lesley Reynolds (Investchem) made a welcome return to the Formula Ford fray, taking the overall win in the first round of the 2007 Championship. However he didn’t have it all his own way with Jayde Kruger (WAP/Alto) a constant thorn in his side.

The duo traded places throughout the opening 15-lap race but in the end it was Reynolds who was able to fend of the attacks of Kruger and take the first win of the year. Kruger was followed to the line by Nicholas Van Weely (Magnificent Paints & Hardware), who got his championship charge off to a promising start.

The battle for fourth place was hotly contested between Formula Ford newcomer Brendan Auby and lady racer Tasmin Pepper (Ford Racing / Investchem).

Pepper never gave Auby an inch but in the end was unable to find a way past and had to settle for fifth place. FP Aldrich rounded out the top six ahead of Allen Meyer (Investchem), Gerhard Peters , Werner Scholtz (L Scholtz Civils) and Andreas Petrou (Investchem).

Heat two saw competitors taking to a wet track. A three-way battle soon ensued between Reynolds, Kruger and Van Weely the three traded places continually in what was one of the most exciting races of the day.

Van Weely showed he is a force to be reckoned with as he lead the race for a number of lap, however as the track dried it was Reynolds who made the brake and took the win. Kruger and Van Weely continued to battle it out with Kruger eventually taking second place.

Fourth place went to Pieter Norval (Wheels R Us) while Pepper was fifth ahead of the most experienced local Formula Ford racer Allen Meyer. Gerhad Peters was seventh followed by Matthew Merton (Matsam Supplies) and Craig Allan (P.M.S).

Aldrichs, Scholts, Paul Shultz (P&P Floss Pic) and Petrou rounded out the field.