Formula Ford, Race Report, Zwartkops


Jayde Kruger (Wap Alto) put in a faultless performance at this weekend’s Zwartkops race meeting to move into the lead of the Investchem Formula Ford championship. Kruger dominated proceedings taking both the day’s victories and setting the fastest lap of the race.

Also having a strong showing was Craig Allan (Sodikart / P.M.S). The youngster put in an impressive performance to finish in second place ahead of Matthew Merton (Matsam Supplies). Pieter Norval (Wheels r us) took fourth place ahead of Tannith Gardiner (Ford Credit). Gardiner was filling in for Tasmin Pepper who could not attend this weekend’s race meeting due to karting commitments.

Championship contender Leslie Reynolds (Investchem) recovered from an off track excursion to finish in sixth place ahead of  Bazill van Rhyn (Air Namibia / Autobass) and the very experienced Allen Meyer. British driver Rick Morris made the trip from the UK to attend this weekend’s race meeting finishing 9th overall. He was followed home by  Andreas Petrou (Investchem), Ian Scofield (Investchem), Brandon Auby (Racing Factors), Barry Harrison (Bravo Holdings), Werner Scholtz (L Scholtz Civils) and Tony Mellows (Fruit Spot).

Race two saw Jayde Kruger once again dominating proceedings with Craig Allan putting in a consistent performance to take second place. Leslie Reynolds had a better outing to this time finish third, though he will be disappointed to have lost ground in the championship battle.

Pieter Norval once again took fourth place this time ahead of Bazill van Rhyn with Tanith Gardener sixth on her first competitive outing in recent years. Nicholas van Wheely headed Matthew Merton and Brandon Auby.

Ian Schofield was the first Zetec Challenge runner to cross the line with Andreas Petrou following him to the flag. Rounding out the field were Tony Mellows, Werner Scholtz, Gordon Walker (Quality Living Space), Barry Harrison and Neil Harrison.