Formula Ford, Phakisa Race Report


With Jayde Kruger (WAP /Alto) and Leslie Reynolds (Investchem) in the hunt for this year’s championship honours there was plenty to play for at Phakisa Freeway on Saturday 28 July. The pressure got the better of the two as they collided on the first lap of heat 1.

 This left the ever-improving Craig Allan to take the first heat victory virtually unchallenged. Kruger recovered, working his way through the field to finish second, while Reynolds was left to watch the remainder of the race from the sidelines.

Mathew Merton (Matsam) took the final podium slot ahead of Tasmin Pepper (Ford/Ford Credit) and local driver Pieter Norval (Wheels-R-Us). Brandon Auby (Mica Hardware / The Glen) took sixth place ahead of Nicholas van Wheely (Magnificent Paints and Hardware). They were followed by F.P Aldrich, Bazil van Rhyn(Air Namibia /Novel), Werner Scholtz (Scholtz Civils)  and Barry Harrison.

Werner Scholtz meanwhile took victory in the Zetec Challenge category ahead of Andreas Petrou (Investchem), veteran Allen Meyer (Les Donnees) and Neil Harrison.

Jayde Kruger made no mistakes in the second heat, driving a faultless race to take first place and in the process increasing his points tally in the championship fight. Tasmin Pepper had another impressive run this time crossing the flag in second position with Nicholas van Wheely third.

Brandon Auby  put on a good show to take fourth position ahead of Pieter Norval and Basil van Rhyn. Leslie Reynolds was forced to use a different car for the second heat following the extensive damage caused in the heat 1 incident. Starting from the back of the grid he was able to salvage a seventh place finish. The Zetec Challenge race was this time won by Allen Meyer.