Ford Puma Rugby Team Celebrate A Successful Season

  • FMCSA joined the Ford Pumas for the team’s annual year-end function
  • Jaco Bouwer named Player of the Year
  • Bouwer handed the keys to a new Ford Figo in honour of his efforts

18 November 2011 – Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa (FMCSA) recently co-hosted the annual awards dinner for the Ford Puma Rugby team. Loose Forward Jaco Bouwer was named the team’s player of the year and was handed the keys to a brand new Ford Figo as part of his prize.

Ford Puma

Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa has enjoyed a longstanding relationship with South African rugby having been involved extensively in local rugby as an associate sponsor to SA Rugby and the Springboks previously. This year Ford teamed up with the Puma Rugby Team as their title sponsor for the 2011 rugby season.

“Ford seized the opportunity to sponsor a great up and coming young rugby team,” says General Manger, Customer Service Operations, Nicho Le Roux. “We’ve been proud to have our name behind the Pumas in the prestigious Vodacom and ABSA Currie Cup rugby championship and were pleased to celebrate their efforts at their annual year end function.”

Ford Puma Rugby

Mpumalanga Rugby Union staff, media, sponsors, Dealer Principles and representatives from FMCSA attended the event at the Woodhill Golf Estate Country Club. Attendees were able to get a closer look at the all-new Ford Ranger Wildtrak, which was on display and enjoyed a preview of the new Ford Ranger TV commercials.

Several trophies were awarded during the evening, but it was the Player of the Year Award, which proved the highlight. Bouwer was chosen for his excellent performance on the field, great attitude towards fans and supporters, continued growth and on-field statistics.

The Ford Figo he was awarded proved to be the cherry-on-top of a fantastic season for the young player. Bouwer was recently selected for the “Emerging Springbok 7’s team” and representing the national team during their trip to Kenya.

The Player’s Player was also announced on the evening which Jaco Bouwer shared with Captain Corné Steenkamp.

“It has been a great year for the Ford Puma’s. We’ve enjoyed a great deal of national exposure as a result of the partnership and have taken great pleasure in interacting with the team and watching their progress throughout the year.


We at Ford would like to congratulate the team on their consistent growth and thank everyone in the team for their exceptional efforts throughout the year,” concluded Le Roux.

Highlights of prizes awarded:

  • Player of the year: Jaco Bouwer
  • Curriebeker player of the year: Jaco Bouwer
  • Player’s player of the year: Corné Steenkamp and Jaco Bouwer
  • Front row player of the year: Corné Steenkamp
  • Back row player of the year: JW Jonker
  • Most Tries scored this season: Coenie  van Wyk (8)
  • Vodacom player of the year: Corné Steenkamp
  • Vodacom front row player of the year: Pellow van der Westhuizen
  • Vodacom back row player of the year: Deon Scholtz