Share on :


The 2006 ABSA Off Road Championship prize giving took place at glittering Gala Event, held at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre on 27 January. Ford received various championship prizes at the award dinner, while Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa, President and CEO Hal Feder was on hand to present the overall Special Vehicle, and Production Vehicle Championship trophies.

Manfred Schröder and Ward Huxtable received the Class E Championship trophy for their efforts in their diesel powered Ford Ranger. The duo dominated their class with consistent podium finishes throughout the 2006 championship series.

Neil Woolridge and Kenny Skjoldhammer also collected a number of trophies on behalf of Ford Racing. The duo collected their trophy for the SP Class Championship win and added further silverware to their collection when they were awarded the second place trophy for the Overall Production Vehicle Championship, and later honoured when they received the Milestone Award, which was presented to them by William James for being the only team to complete all eight events of the season.

Following a successful 2006 Ford Racing are looking to expand there imprint on the ABSA Off Road Championship in 2007. “The team came a long way in 2006,” explains Renette Hoon, from Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa. “It was certainly a steep learning curve but the team did us proud bringing home two class championships.

“You will no doubt here more about our 2007 plans in the coming months. However we can promise that we will once again be going all out to stamp our authority on the ABSA Off Road Championship,” she concluded.

Latest News

Read more about the latest news

Festival Of Motoring Johannesburg South Africa

With a substantial list of exhibitors, partners and sponsors already on board and more joining each day, the Festival of Motoring 2022 is definitely the highlight of the motoring event

Breyten Odendaal

6 July, 2022

MG Electric Vehicles Headline At Auto Express Awards

The MG ZS EV has been named Affordable Electric Car of the Year at Auto Express’ prestigious New Car Awards ceremony in London. The Auto Express team recognised the ZS EV

Breyten Odendaal

6 July, 2022

Details About New Amarok World Premiere

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles’ premium pick-up celebrates its digital world premiere tomorrow, 7 July. Below you will find the key links to the premiere of the new Amarok, which starts at 10:00

Breyten Odendaal

6 July, 2022

© 2022 -

Main address: 11 Scafell Road 1709 Gauteng, South Africa