Engen Volkswagen Cup title claimed by Kelvin van der Linde


THE 2012 national Engen Volkswagen Cup title was claimed by Kelvin van der Linde (31 – Ferodo Racing). The 16 year-old Van der Linde, in the process of claiming the title, also became the youngest racing driver in South Africa to win a national circuit racing title.

Volkswagen Motorsport

Previously this accolade was held by his uncle, Ettienne van der Linde. Kelvin has claimed this accolade by just four months as his birthday is in June compared to the February date of his uncle.

Van der Linde has been involved in the Engen Volkswagen Cup for just two seasons, claiming his first national title in the second year.

“We haven’t had an easy season, we had two DNFs in Cape Town (the penultimate event),” says Van der Linde. “That affected our spirits, but we had to get back up and perform – which we did this weekend.”

“This event was about keeping our head and finishing ahead of Devin. We were leading the championship so anything was possible and it worked in our favour.”

While Van der Linde claimed the title for 2012, he was not the only driver recognised for their efforts this season. The Rookie of the Year title and the Most Improved Driver award was claimed by Jordan Pepper (46 – PG Glass / Blue Label Telekoms) while Nathan’s Motorsport was presented with the Volkswagen Spirit Award and Big Boss Auto received the Volkswagen Team Award for this season.

The new champion did not put a foot wrong at the final round for the season, claiming both race victories on the day to finish first overall in the biggest field of competition in the WesBank Super Series.

The Engen Volkswagen Cup series in 2012 has seen grids with as many as 35 cars on the starting line. The final round of the season proved no less popular with 31 Engen Volkswagen Cup Polo Vivo race cars entered for the Kyalami event.

Behind Van der Linde, the finishing order for the season is Devin Robertson (1 – Big Boss Auto / Sparco) – the 2011 champion has been fighting for another championship victory this season, putting on a fantastic driving display in the process, and in third place it was Jordan Pepper (46 – PG Glass / Blue Label Telekoms).

The Masters category of Engen Volkswagen Cup had already been won by Dean Ball (M1 – Champion Motors) when the field tackled the Kyalami event. Ball still took the opportunity to stamp his authority on the category by winning both races and claiming first overall in the Masters for the day.

Behind Ball the championship standings for the Masters category sees Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive) in second place for the season with Justin Taylor (M3 – VW Techniques) claiming third spot.

For 16 years the Engen Volkswagen Cup has provided real national motorsport action with the 2012 season being one of the best to date. The 2013 season is expected to be just as packed with excitement.



  1. Kelvin van der Linde (31 – Ferodo Racing)
  2. Kyle Barnes (4 – Gold Liberations / Conti Partner)
  3. Jordan Pepper (46 – PG Glass)


  1. Kelvin van der Linde (31 – Ferodo Racing)
  2. Jordan Pepper (46 – PG Glass)
  3. Kyle Barnes (4 – Gold Liberations / Conti Partner)


  1. Kelvin van der Linde (31 – Ferodo Racing)
  2. Jordan Pepper (46 – PG Glass)
  3. Kyle Barnes (4 – Gold Liberations / Conti Partner)


  1. Dean Ball (M5 – Champion Motors)
  2. Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive)
  3. Dino Manelis (M13 – Big Boss Auto / GT1 Auto Services)