Engen Volkswagen Cup produces exciting racing at Zwartkops


Championship leader, Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax) put in another excellent performance to further consolidate his lead in the single-make Engen Volkswagen Cup at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday. Weyers claimed two race wins on the day, the third time this year he has produced a double victory.

Zwartkop Racing

It was not, however, Weyers that started in pole. The top six draw favoured Mark Silverwood (32 – OKI Print Solutions) who managed to draw pole for both race starts. The draw went in Silverwood’s favour while the fastest qualifier and PG Glass Pole Position award winner for race one, Mathew Hodges (12 – ITR Africa / 959 Panelbeaters), drew fifth and Weyers drew second place as the fastest qualifier in race two.

With Silverwood leading the field off the line, Weyers was intent on making his presence known, getting to the front in both races in short order. In race one this meant a fight for position between Silverwood and Hodges. Contact between the two in the dying stages of that race sent them both off the track, opening the door to Jeffrey Kruger (7 – IndyOil) to snatch second spot while Hodges recovered the quickest to claim third place.

That opportunistic moment for Kruger could not have been more perfectly timed. A lap later his gearbox broke – but it didn’t matter as he’d already claimed the chequered flag.

The racing at Zwartkops was an especially hard-fought affair right from the qualifying session which saw the first 23 Polo Vivos separated by just one second. Of these, the top 16 were separated by just a half-second.

In race two Hodges improved on that third place by claiming second while Dewald Brummer (22 – MAD Racing / UMP / Horne Hydraulics) took third place.

While not on the podium Tyrell Govindsamy (35 – Petroplast) celebrated his award as Driver of the Day for the Zwartkops event, thanks to his performance on the weekend. In race one he progressed from 20th on the grid to finish in 16th and in race two finished 15th from 21st on the grid.

In the Masters category Etienne du Toit (M4 – Zenith Product Design) followed the example set by the championship leader, claiming both victories on the day. In race one it was Juan Gerber (M8 – Carfind.co.za) who took second and guest racer Thomas Falkiner (M11 – MotorMania) in third place.

The second race saw Masters leader Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive) in second with Falkiner again in third place.

In typical Engen Volkswagen Cup style, after each of the races there were bumpers, mirrors and other bits to be found at a variety of locations around the circuit, an indication of just how serious this racing is.

The penultimate round of the series takes place in Cape Town on Saturday, October 5, where Weyers will undoubtedly be aiming to claim the championship title in front of his home crowd.



  1. Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax)
  2. Jeffrey Kruger (7 – IndyOil)
  3. Mathew Hodges (12 – ITR Africa / 959 Panelbeaters)


  1. Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax)
  2. Mathew Hodges (12 – ITR Africa / 959 Panelbeaters)
  3. Dewald Brummer (22 – MAD Racing / UMP / Horne Hydraulics)


  1. Etienne du Toit (M4 – Zenith Product Design)
  2. Thomas Falkiner (M11 – MotorMania)
  3. Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive)