Engen Volkswagen Cup delivers exciting racing at Kyalami


Engen Volkswagen Cup delivers exciting racing at Kyalami

FANS of the Engen Volkswagen Cup series were not disappointed by their national racing heroes at Kyalami on Saturday. The opening round of the season delivered two races packed with action throughout the 26 car field.

Engen Volkswagen Cup

One of the first racers to show that he is well rested, but hungry to achieve in the new year, is Jeffrey Kruger (7 – IndyOil). Kruger claimed pole position in the lucky draw of the top six fastest qualifiers, then showed the field how it should be done, leading to the finish to claim victory.

Behind Kruger, Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax) was putting in a spirited effort as he tried to usurp the leader and behind him the fight between Dewald Brummer (22 – UMP / Horne Hydraulics / MAD Racing) and Bryan Morgan (41 – Great Accounts / Great Soft) was fierce, but it wasn’t allowing the frontrunners to get away from them.

A burst water pipe in the first race sidelined Morgan, even with a Safety Car and then the race being red-flagged two laps short of the full race distance. The red flag was called after an incident between Ryan Rhode (17 – Temo Transport & Plant Hire) and  Gerhard Henning’s (M5 – Goldwagen Roodepoort) Polo Vivo. This put Henning into the sand trap and ended the race.


Race two saw Mark Silverwood (32 – Oki Printing / Q8 Oils) lead the field from pole and an immediate battle took place between Silverwood and Brummer who had started from second position. The two ended lap one side-by-side as they dashed across the finish, with Brummer edging into the lead. Once Brummer had claimed the lead, Weyers also made his move, claiming second and then pressuring Brummer for the lead.

The fight between Weyers and Brummer proved unrelenting as they traded places during the race while Silverwood kept his momentum, looking for his chance to move ahead. While the three race leaders kept the pressure up between them, it was Brummer and Weyers that fought for the lead – with Weyers proving ultimately successful and claiming his first race victory ever at Kyalami.

The Masters category saw Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive) put in a strong drive at the Kyalami meeting, with a top-10 finish in the second race. Newcomer to the category, Juan Gerber (M8 – Carfind.co.za), also put in a good performance at his first event with a second place finish in both races. Guest racer Jesse Adams (M3 – VW Motorsport / Star Motoring) showed good skill in the first event claiming third overall in this category, finishing 17th in the first race and 18th in race two.

Tasmin Pepper (31 – PG Glass / Plastomark), Trevor Bland (15 – PG Glass / Alpine Motors), Richie Napier (36 – Supafuel / Bodyline / Design Waterproofing Systems), Rodrigues and the Kruger siblings, Jeffrey (7 – IndyOil) and Robyn (11 – IndyOil), all finished in the top 10 overall at this first race meeting. Each is showing promise for the year ahead and has made good progress on their positions from last year.

Clearly these racers have benefited from the break since last season and have returned to the circuit determined to prove themselves.

Duvall Maritz (26 – Maritz Financial Services), Gerhard Henning (M5 – Goldwagen Roodepoort), Juan Gerber (M8 – Carfind.co.za), Simon Moss (38 – Tsogo Sun / Watermax), Ernie van der Walt (46 – Ferodo Racing), Daniel Rowe (33 – Ferodo Racing), Paulo Da Cunha (M12 – R&A Cellular) are all newcomers to the Engen Volkswagen Cup series – or have done just a few events previously. Their outing at Kyalami was their first race meeting in this single-make series for Volkswagen Polo Vivo race cars that are powered, from this season, by the new Engen Primax fuel.

Round two of the national championship takes place in Cape Town on Saturday, 16 March, when the field competes at Killarney, bringing their unique brand of racing to the Mother City.



  1. Jeffrey Kruger (7 – IndyOil)
  2. Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax)
  3. Dewald Brummer (22 – UMP / Horne / MAD Racing)


  1. Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax)
  2. Dewald Brummer (22 – UMP / Horne / MAD Racing)
  3. Mark Silverwood (32 – OKI Printing Solutions / Q8 Oils)


  1. Kosie Weyers (5 – Engen Primax)
  2. Dewald Brummer (22 – UMP / Horne / MAD Racing)
  3. Mark Silverwood (32 – OKI Printing Solutions / Q8 Oils)


  1. Eddie Rodrigues (M7 – SEW Eurodrive)
  2. Juan Gerber (M8 – Carfind.co.za)
  3. Jesse Adams (M3 – VW Motorsport / Star Motoring)