Drama on stage eleven of the Polokwane Rally


Stage eleven of the Polokwane Rally turned out to be most dramatic and significant when championship leaders Johnny Gemmell/Carolyn Swan retired their Castrol Toyota Auris with severe engine overheating problems.  They parked the Toyota to avoid any further damage.

Toyota Auris Polokwane Race

Teammates Leeroy Poulter/Elvéne Coetzee comprehensively won the challenging stage over 23 kilometres featuring several big jumps which caught out several of the crews.  They were half a minute quicker than the next car the Sasol Ford Fiesta of leaders Mark Cronje and Robin Houghton.

Two stages remain, the final 10.3 kilometre gravel stage at Polokwane Brick followed by the short tarmac special stage at Peter Mokaba Stadium.

Jan Habig and Robert Paisley (Basil Read Ford Fiesta) remain in second place ahead of Hergen Fekken/Pierre Arries (BP Volkswagen Polo.