Dakar 2014 – Challenge to be contested in three continents


Backed by its success in 2012, and the performance of its winners on the 2013 Dakar, the Dakar Challenge once again moves to a higher gear, with a selection extended to 5 events, now for 8 crowns.

Dakar 2014

The Challenge will be contested on three continents: the Americas: North and South, Africa and Oceania. At the departure of the 2014 Dakar, there will be two representatives for each event: one on motorbikes and one in cars.

The all-terrain rallies that are contested throughout the season will bring together enthusiasts from all countries and all directions. Often amateurs, these drivers sometimes reveal talent that cries out to be expressed against the best competitors in the discipline. It is precisely to give the most promising of them the opportunity to shine on the reference event that the Dakar Challenge was designed and created.

Three rallies and two Bajas will support this broad initiative to detect the virtuosos of the handlebars and steering wheel. At each of them, the least experienced competitors (*) may register for the Dakar Challenge. At the end of the races, the best in the general classification will win registration for the 2014 Dakar.

Eight vehicles will therefore depart on the Dakar after having been successful in the Dakar Challenge. The first meeting is fixed from 31 May to 2 June in Ensenada (Mexico) on the prestigious Baja 500 where the competitors will obtain a half-pass to be confirmed in July in Nevada. All the great North American names of the Dakar are already amongst the best performers in the prestigious Baja: Johnny Campbell, Quinn Cody, Jonah Street and Robby Gordon, … to mention only the winners…

The timetable of Dakar Challenge events:
• From 31 May to 2 June 2013: Dakar Challenge USA 1: Tecate SCORE Baja 500*
• From 15 to 22 June 2013: Desafío Ruta 40 – Dakar Series
• From 20 to 23 June 2013: Toyota Kalahari Botswana 1000 Desert Race
• From 12 to 14 July 2013: Dakar Challenge USA 2: Eldorado HDRA Reno 500*
• From 20 to 27 September 2013: Australasian Safari
• From 3rd to 6th October 2013: Desafío Inca – Dakar Series

(*) Never having participated in the Dakar, or finished amongst the first 10 in an FIM all-terrain rally (motorbikes), not having been in the list of FIA priority drivers (cars) and/or the Elite ASO lists.

(**) These two Bajas lead to a common general classification and a single winner per category (1 for motorbikes and 1 for cars)