Dakar 2012, Stage 10


Dakar Rally 2012Dakar 2012, Stage 10 Iquique – Arica 694 km in total, 377 km special test

Historic stage win for Husqvarna

Joan Barreda and the Bavarian-Italian Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain celebrated a historic win at stage ten of the Rally Dakar 2012.

Barreda managed to close the gap to his fellow countryman Marc Coma right after the start. He was able to maintain the speed of the three-time Dakar champion and both caught race leader Cyril Despres.

The three riders rode a ridiculous speed all stage long, with Barreda eventually taking a convincing win. This proves two things: Barreda has the speed of the best rally pilots in the world. And the Speedbrain-developed Husqvarna rally bike is capable of victories.

Paulo Goncalves´ day also started well. The Portuguese had the virtual lead for the first 180 kilometres. A Husqvarna one-two was in the cards. But the Portuguese hit a hidden stone in the sinking sand, sending him violently over the handlebars. The bike was pretty damaged afterwards, luckily the rider was okay. Goncalves fixed the bike and went back into the race. He finally arrived at Arica 19:23 minutes behind his teammate.
Goncalves nevertheless defended seventh spot in the standings.

Jose Manuel Pellicer und Zé Hélio rode a steady stage. The Brazililan and the Spaniard are lying around the top twenty.

Team principal Wolfgang Fischer said after the stage: “All our hard work has been rewarded with this historic win. We´re extremely happy to see our bike perform that well – obviously a machine capable of winning at the Dakar against the world´s best. Earning this result is very satisfying to say the least. A stage win against two of the sport´s greatest.”

1. Joan Barreda (SPA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 4:18:43 hrs 2. Marc Coma (SPA) KTM, 1:32 min behind 3. Cyril Despres (FRA) KTM, 3:39 4. Helder Rodrigues (POR) Yamaha, 5:16 5. Jordi Viladoms (SPA) KTM, 8:48 12. Paulo Goncalves (POR) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 19:23 19. Jose Manuel Pellicer (SPA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 35:45 27. Zé Hélio (BRA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 42:47

Overall standings

1. Despres, 33:07:39 hrs
2. Coma, 0:21 min behind
3. Rodrigues, 45:56
4. Viladoms, 1:18:52
5. Stefan Svitko (SVK) KTM, 1:24:38
7. Paulo Goncalves (POR) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 1:41:41 14. Joan Barreda (SPA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 3:29:27 21. Zé Hélio (BRA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 4:48:22 22. Jose Manuel Pellicer (SPA), Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 4:49:06