Car of the Year 2013 New Sponsor


New support sponsor for Car of the Year competition

Car or the year 2013

The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) is proud to announce MOTUL, the international premium specialist lubricants company, as a new support sponsor of its Car of the Year competition. Motul, represented in South Africa by Premium Lubricants, joins Hollard Insurance as support sponsor of the competition, along with headline sponsor, WesBank.

“This partnership represents a sound platform for the introduction of the automotive arm of the Motul brand as it aligns directly with our competitive nature and drive for performance excellence”, says Justin Levy, General Manager of Premium Lubricants.

While Motul has been prominent in the local motorcycle lubricants market for the last 20 years, the company is now expanding its product offering in South Africa, with Premium Lubricants as the South African distributor for the automotive, industrial and agricultural product ranges. AMP will continue to distribute Motul motorcycle lubricants.

“We are extremely excited about being appointed as Motul’s official automotive distributor for South Africa,” adds Levy. “The Motul brand is synonymous with high performance and quality. With the very latest advancements in engine technology now reaching our shores in South Africa, there has never been a more fitting time for the leader in specialist lubricants to enter the market.”

The 2013 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition features 12 finalists (in alphabetical order):

  • BMW 3 Series Sedan 320i Automatic
  • Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4X4 Double Cab Diesel AT
  • Hyundai i30 1.8 Executive
  • Kia Rio 1.4 TEC Hatch MT
  • Lexus GS 350 EX
  • Mercedes-Benz B 180 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY 7G-DCT
  • Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-T Tekna (Leather)
  • Opel Meriva 1.4T Cosmo
  • Porsche Boxster
  • Range Rover Evoque Si4 Dynamic 5-door
  • Toyota 86 High
  • Toyota Yaris 1.5 HSD Xs

The 2013 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year will be announced at a gala event at the Sandton Convention Centre on 6 March 2013. Prior to that, the 29-member Car of the Year Jury will put the twelve finalists through extensive testing from 13 to 15 February, which includes static, on-road and dynamic assessments at the renowned Gerotek vehicle testing facility outside Pretoria.