Dino Stermin delivered a brilliant maiden Junior Max win - Pic Heinrich Sauer

Grey and misty Cape autumn weather greeted the cream of South Africa’s karting community for the second round of the SA National Karting Championships on Saturday, but as the conditions improved through the day, so did the temperature rise on track with brilliant racing across the board.

Dino Stermin delivered a brilliant maiden Junior Max win – Pic Heinrich Sauer

It was also a historic day for karting with the event being the first kart race ever to be live streamed on the Internet, while the day once again proved that Cape karters are enjoying a purple patch with local drivers taking sixteen wins from 24 races and overall honours in four of the eight classes.

Cape drivers all but dominated the Rotax Max Challenge classes, with local lad Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) overcoming hometown rival Delano Fowler (Suprocom Tony Kart) two races to one in 125cc high school age Junior Max. Stermin both times passed Fowler in dramatic on-track moves to take his maiden national victory. Joshua Dias (Top Glass/Selepe Birel), Jason Coetzee (RKT Kosmic and Giordano Lupini (AutoWeek CRG) shared out the third places, with Dias, Coetzee. Delon Thompson (A&I Birel) and Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Freight Kosmic) round off the overall top six.

Another Cape driver Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) took two open Max Challenge 125cc wins to one over Durban lad Richard Upton (CRG) with Dale Fourie CRG third from Miss Ivana Cetinich (REB Alpha Birel). Robert Whiting (Rho Tech Tony) and Chadley Swartz (SAKRA Kosmic). Aberdein, Upton and Whiting shared the second and third places in the races with Tylan Swartbooi (CRG) sneaking a second head third place.

Jozi’s Bradley Liebenberg (Smart Call Birel) broke the Cape Max domination by beating local lad Jonathan Aberdein (Tony Kart) two races to one in the quickest Rotax Max DD2 gearbox class with   Mitchell Licen (Cupboard Value Intrepid), Luca Canderle (Intrepid), Mitchell Licen (Cupboard Value Intrepid) and Kashen Naicker (RKT Kosmic) splitting third places between them as Licen, Brittz and Canderle filled out the top six.  Durban’s four-time world karting champion Cristiano Morgado (Tony Kart) took over-30s DD2 Masters from CRG men Nicholas Verheul and Ronaldo Baptista.

The winningest driver of the day was another Capetonian lad – Aidan Strydom took five primary school wins in out of six aboard his two TurboTech TopKarts including a clean sweep in the Maxterino 60 war. Jo’burg lightie Cameron O’Conner (TopKart) Charl Visser (Battery Energy RKT Zanardi), JP Hamman (Gatskop RKT Kosmic) and Kwanda Mokoena (Spin Drift TopKart) shared third places to come home third, fourth and fifth overall ahead of Troy Dolinschek (Makita TopKart)

The other primary school class saw Blaine Rademeyer (Specialised Security TopKart) take overall honours with three second places after race 2 and 3 winner Aidan Strydom (Turbo Tech TopKart) was taken out on the first lap of the opening heat and race 1 winner and another Cape driver JP Hamman (Gatskop RKT Kosmic) ended off the podium in the following races. That left Hamman second overall from. Altan Bouw who took a trio of thirds aboard his BAT Supplies RKT Kosmic, Strydom, Jarrod Waberski (DAW TopKart) and Jayden Els (Force Fuel TopKart).

Yet another Cape Town driver, Jason Coetzee defeated his Bloemfontein RKT Kosmic          teammate two races to one in a trio of hard fought high school Vortex Junior Rok 125cc heats with TonyKart duo Luke Hill and Dario Busi sharing third places with Jordan North (RKT Kosmic)

The weekend was wrapped up by a pair of national challenge series races where Nathan Parkins followed two second-places up with a win in the IAME X30 gearbox races after race 1 and 2 winner and RKT Kosmic teammate Luke Herring became embroiled in a mid-pack fracas in the finale. Production racing star Michael Stephen (RKT Kosmic)    took a second and a third en route to third overall ahead of Julian van der Watt who scored two race thirds aboard his Zanardi; Kohen Bam (SAKRA FA) and Aston Hare (Energy)

There was a change in proceedings in Vortex Super Rok, where Johannesburg driver Keagan Masters took a pair of wins to take the day with his Performance Masters FA from PE lad Bryn High (RKT Zanardi), Henry Bam (SAKRA TonyKart), Keagan Blackensee (Performance Masters TonyKart), Jason Smith (TonyKart) and the regular class winner         Chassen Bright (RKT Zanardi), who bounced back to win the final heat after a torrid first two races.

The Killarney national proved a brilliant day’s kart racing that once again saw local drivers taking the lion’s share of the laurels. Now let’s see if that can continue their winning ways in the SA National Karting Championship that now moves to the challenging iDube Raceway in the KZN Midlands for the next round early in July.