Published by Gerald Ferreira Date: November 26, 2012
Categories: Jaguar, Jaguar Sport

26 November 2012. The Jaguar Academy of Sport is pleased to announce the award nominations for the third Jaguar Academy of Sport Awards. The ceremony will be held at The Savoy, London on 2nd December 2012, and will be hosted by entertainer David Walliams and Sky Sports presenter Kirsty Gallacher. The event will recognise the best of British sporting achievements from the past year, and celebrate the success of 50 Academy Rising Stars and their performances in a momentous year.

Jaguar Academy of Sport

At the end of an unprecedented year in sport, which has included the London Olympics and Paralympic Games, Ryder Cup and Tour de France; nominating sports men and women for individual recognition in the awards was an exciting prospect for the panel of high profile judges. Denise Lewis, Colin Jackson, Kirsty Gallacher and renowned sports journalists Des Kelly, Nick Harris, Jon Desborough and Matt Majendie were responsible for curating a list of nominees that includes Team Sky’s Bradley Wiggins, tennis star Andy Murray and inspirational swimmer Ellie Simmonds.*

A highlight of the evening will be presentation of Special Recognition Awards, to five outstanding Rising Stars from the Academy Bursary Programme. Of these five Rising Stars, one young athlete will be presented with the Jaguar Academy of Sport Star of the Future Award.  In 2010 Jade Jones won this accolade, and in 2012 won Olympic gold in Taekwondo; demonstrating the success of the Academy programme.

Kirsty Gallacher, Jaguar Academy of Sport member and ceremony host, commented: "I am excited to be hosting the Jaguar Academy of Sport Annual Awards. It was a fantastic event last year and I’m looking forward to hosting again with David. It was very difficult selecting just five or six nominees in each category but we got there in the end - Britain just has too much talent!”