BMW Motorrad Race Trophy: Thrilling three-way battle at the top.


Munich, 18th June 2014. Just one point separates the new top three in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy: wins and podiums in the French Superbike Championship (FSBK) and the South African Motorcycle Championship (SAM) have once again shaken up the overall standings. BMW Motorrad privateers were also in action in various other series last weekend.


BMW Motorrad Race Trophy: just one point separates Brunet-Lugardon (FSBK), Isaacs (SAM) and Jaillet (FSBK).


It doesn’t get any more exciting: last weekend saw the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy turned on its head again – and there is now just one point between first and third place. The complex and compensative points format ensures that all the riders from a diverse range of championships have the same opportunity to score Race Trophy points with their racing successes. And the concept is proving popular: 44 BMW Motorrad privateers from all over the world have now registered for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

New leader is France’s Cyril Brunet-Lugardon. The BMW S 1000 RR rider won both races in the European Bikes class of the French Superbike Championship (FSBK) in Lédenon last weekend. Victories number two and three of the season catapulted him to the top of the Race Trophy standings with 103 points.

However, South African Lance Isaacs is lurking hot on his heels. He claimed his first win of the season on the BMW S 1000 RR run by Black Swan Racing at the fourth round of the South African Motorcycle Championship (SAM) in East London (ZA). Isaacs won race two on Sunday, having also taken his place on the podium as runner-up in race one. With 102.75 points to his name in the Race Trophy, he is now a mere 0.25 points behind leader Brunet-Lugardon. The new man in third place is Emilien Jaillet (FR) – another rider from the European Bikes class of the FSBK. He finished runner-up in both races, and also has one victory to his name this season. Jaillet has now scored 102 points towards the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

Last week’s leader Alessandro Pilota (IT) has dropped to fourth place for the moment. His next opportunity to score Race Trophy points comes in two weeks, when the Italian Superbike Championship (CIV) contests its next races. Before then, it is the turn of the BMW Motorrad privateers from the International German Motorcycle Championship  to launch a new attack on the top of the standings this weekend. Oschersleben (DE) is the venue for the third round of their season.


French Superbike Championship in Lédenon.

As well as Brunet-Lugardon and Jaillet, numerous other RR riders also came up trumps in the European Bikes class of the FSBK in Lédenon. The top seven places in both races went to BMW Motorrad privateers. Laurent Aymonin (FR) finished third to join winner Brunet-Lugardon and runner-up Jaillet on the podium. In the FSBK Superbike race, Nicolas Pouhair (FR) was the best-placed BMW Motorrad privateer. He came home fourth and fifth in the Superstock class (eleventh and twelfth overall).

British Superbike Championship in Snetterton.

The BMW Motorrad customer teams in the British Superbike Championship (BSB) lined up for the third round of the 2014 season in Snetterton (GB) last weekend. Ryuichi Kiyonari (JP) was the best-placed BMW rider in both races in the Superbike class. He finished fifth and fourth on the RR run by Buildbase BMW Motorrad. Patrick Muff (CH / Bathams Prize Winning Ales) also claimed a top-ten finish, coming home eighth in race one.

Victory in the hard-fought Superstock class in the BSB went to BMW: Hudson Kennaugh (GB) of Linxcel Trik Moto Racing won the race on his RR. Lee Jackson (GB) finished sixth for the Buildbase BMW Motorrad team.

Brazilian Superbike Championship in Interlagos.

There was also a podium for a BMW Motorrad rider in the Brazilian Championship (BRSBK), which was in action on the Interlagos Grand Prix circuit in Sao Paulo (BR) last week. In the top class, the GP 1000 category, Matthieu Lussiana (FR) of BMW Motorrad Alex Barros Racing finished runner-up on a BMW HP4. And he only narrowly missed out on victory: he crossed the finish line just 0.1 seconds behind winner Daniel Eslick (US). The second place sees Lussiana climb from 17th to eighth in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. His team-mate Lucas Barros (BR) ended the race in Interlagos in sixth place.

FIM Sidecar World Championship in Rijeka.


The third round of the 2014 Sidecar World Championship (SWC) was held in Rijeka, Croatia, and yielded podiums for the BMW teams. Petri Makkula (FI) finished third and second in the two races, while Uwe Gürck (DE) came home fourth and third. Gürck is a participant in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy and scored more valuable points towards this competition. Jörg Steinhausen (DE) had an unfortunate weekend: a bad crash in qualifying meant he was unable to take part in the race. His partner Axel Kölsch injured his ankle in the crash. Everyone in the BMW Motorrad Motorsport family wishes him a speedy recovery!

2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings.

Status: 18th June 2014


Pos. Name (Nat.) Series Points
1 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FSBK 103,00
2 Lance Isaacs (ZA) SAM 102,75
3 Emilien Jaillet (FR) FSBK 102,00
4 Alessandro Polita (IT) CIV 91,25
5 Michel Amalric (FR) FSBK 90,00
6 Laurent Aymonin (FR) FSBK 89,00
7 Luca Conforti (IT) CIV 82,50
8 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) BRSBK 69,50
9 Marco Nekvasil (AT) IDM 66,50
10 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK 64,50
11 Bastien Mackels (BE) IDM, EWC 62,50
12 Janine Davies (ZA) SAM 58,05
13 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM 53,00
14 Lucy Glöckner (DE) IDM 52,50
15 Denni Schiavoni (IT) CIV 50,00


16. Ivan Silva Alberola (ES/CEV/48,80), 17. Leon Bovee (NL/IDM/46,50), 18. Björn Stuppi (DE/EWC/42,35), 19. Hayato Takada (JP/MFJ/42,35), 20. Jörg Steinhausen (DE/SWC/40,80), 21. Federico D‘Annunzio (IT/WSTK/40,00), 22. Dominik Vincon (DE/IDM/39,00), 23. Uwe Gürck (DE/SWC/35,52), 24. Mark Albrecht (DE/IDM/30,75), 25. Daisaku Sakai (JP/MFJ/30,00), 26. Stefan Nebel (DE/IDM/29,25), 27. Marc Neumann (DE/IDM/27,00), 28. Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR/FSBK/25,00), 29. Daniel Rivas Fernandez (ES/CEV/22,40), 30. Lucas Barros (BR/BRSBK/21,00), 31. Luciano Ribodino (AR/BRSBK/16,50), 32. Robert Muresan (RO/WSTK/16,00), 33. Thomas Hainthaler (DE/IDM/15,75), 34. Alessio Velini (IT/CIV/15,00), 35. Kohji Teramoto (JP/MFJ/14,00), 36. Lucas Teodoro (BR/BRSBK/9,00), , 37. Imre Toth (HU/WSBK/6,50), 38. David Datzer (DE/IDM/6,00), 39. Shinya Takeishi (JP/MFJ/6,00), 40. Peter Sebestyen (HU/WSBK/2,00), 41. Filip Altendorfer (DE/EWC/0,00), 42. Florian Bauer (DE/EWC/0,00), 43. Rico Löwe (DE/EWC/0,00), 44. Didier Grams (DE/Macau Grand Prix/0,00)

It is still possible to register for the 2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy on the website The deadline for registrations for the current season is not until 2nd November 2014, entry is free. Regardless of when the registrations are received, each participant will receive points for all the race events he/she has competed in since the start of the scoring period on 15th February 2014. So the ranking can also continuously change as new participants are added.