BMW Motorcycles FIM Superbike World Championship in Sepang.


All change at the top: Alessandro Polita new leader in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.


Munich, 11th June 2014. It was once again all change in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy standings after the results of the most recent race weekend. The new leader is Alessandro Polita (IT). BMW Motorrad privateers around the world enjoyed further success, with victories in the EVO class of the Superbike World Championship in Sepang, Malaysia, and the Canadian Superbike Championship, as well as podiums in the Italian and Spanish Superbike Championships.

BMW Motorrad Race Trophy: CIV riders Polita and Conforti storm to the fore, SAM rider Isaacs now third.

We have a new leader in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy: the riders in the Italian Superbike Championship (CIV) seized their opportunity last weekend, scoring enough Race Trophy points to propel them to the top of the standings.

The new leader is Alessandro Polita (IT), who started the weekend in third place in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. He finished runner-up in the first of the CIV races in Imola (IT). His podium finish added another 25 points to his tally in the trophy, enough to move the Italian into a slender lead at the top of the standings. He remained in the lead despite a DNF in race two. The new man in second place is Luca Conforti (IT). He finished third and fourth in Imola to climb from ninth to second in the Race Trophy. South African Lance Isaacs is currently third overall after a race-free weekend. The BMW Motorrad privateers in the SUPERBIKE*IDM, who were also well positioned in the Race Trophy, also had a weekend off.

Canadian Jordan Szoke, who competes in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK), has also joined the battle at the top of the standings. The first of five rounds of the CSBK took place last weekend at Shannonville (CA). Szoke made a perfect start, claiming first pole position and then the win. This gave him his first 62.50 points and sixth place in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – level on points with fifth-placed Bastien Mackels (BE), who is in action in the SUPERBIKE*IDM and the Endurance World Championship (EWC). The drivers in the Spanish Superbike Championship (CEV) also made great strides up the rankings.

The BMW Motorrad Motorsport community now awaits the coming weekend with great anticipation. Isaacs lines up for his next race in the South African Motorcycle Championship (SAM) with a clear goal: to regain the lead in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. However, Jörg Steinhausen and Uwe Gürck (both DE), who contest their next round in the Sidecar World Championship (SWC), also have a good opportunity to catapult themselves to the top – as does Matthieu Lussiana (FR), who goes in search of victory in the Brazilian Superbike Championship.


FIM Superbike World Championship in Sepang.

The BMW Motorrad Motorsport experts were made to sweat last weekend at what was probably the hottest race of the year in the FIM Superbike World Championship (WSBK). The sixth round of the season was held in tropical temperatures at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia. Leon Camier (GB) produced another impressive display on the RR fielded by the BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team – although problems during qualifying meant he started the race from the sixth row of the grid. He progressed through the field to finish tenth overall in both races. This was sufficient for second place in the EVO class in race one, and victory in the same category in the second race.

Imre Toth (HU/BMW Team Toth) finished 14th in race one on the superbike version of the BMW S 1000 RR. In doing so, he picked up his first points in the Superbike World Championship. He then came home 18th in race two. His team-mate Peter Sebestyen (HU), who lined up on the EVO version of the RR, failed to finish the first race and ended race two in 19th place. Both riders added to their points tallies in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.


Spanish Superbike Championship at Motorland Aragón.

The BMW Motorrad privateers in the Spanish Superbike Championship (CEV) also tasted success last weekend. They headed to Motorland Aragón (ES) for round three of the season. Ivan Silva Alberola (ES) crossed the finish line third in race two to earn himself a spot on the podium. He was in contention for a podium in race one too, but just had to settle for fourth place. Silva Alberola scored sufficient Race Trophy points to improve his position in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy from 21st to tenth. Daniel Rivas Fernandez was sixth in the opening race, but crashed out whilst running second in race two.

2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings.

Status: 11th June 2014

Pos. Name (Nat.) Series Points
1 Alessandro Polita (IT) CIV 91,25
2 Luca Conforti (IT) CIV 82,50
3 Lance Isaacs (ZA) SAM 69,00
4 Marco Nekvasil (AT) IDM 66,50
5 Bastien Mackels (BE) IDM, EWC 62,50
6 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK 62,50
7 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM 53,00
8 Lucy Glöckner (DE) IDM 52,50
9 Denni Schiavoni (IT) CIV 50,00
10 Ivan Silva Alberola (ES) CEV 48,80
11 Janine Davies (ZA) SAM 47,25
12 Leon Bovee (NL) IDM 46,50
13 Björn Stuppi (DE) EWC 42,35
14 Hayato Takada (JP) MFJ 42,35
15 Jörg Steinhausen (DE) SWC 40,80


16. Federico D‘Annunzio (IT/WSTK/40,00), 17. Matthieu Lussiana (FR/BRSBK/39,50), 18. Dominik Vincon (DE/IDM/39,00), 19. Mark Albrecht (DE/IDM/30,75), 20. Daisaku Sakai (JP/MFJ/30,00), 21. Stefan Nebel (DE/IDM/29,25), 22. Marc Neumann (DE/IDM/27,00), 23. Uwe Gürck (DE/SWC/25,08), 24. Daniel Rivas Fernandez (ES/CEV/22,40), 25. Luciano Ribodino (AR/BRSBK/16,50), 26. Robert Muresan (RO/WSTK/16,00), 27. Thomas Hainthaler (DE/IDM/15,75), 28. Alessio Velini (IT/CIV/15,00), 29. Kohji Teramoto (JP/MFJ/14,00), 30. Lucas Teodoro (BR/BRSBK/9,00), 31. Lucas Barros (BR/BRSBK/7,50), 32. Imre Toth (HU/WSBK/6,50), 33. David Datzer (DE/IDM/6,00), 34. Shinya Takeishi (JP/MFJ/6,00), 35. Peter Sebestyen (HU/WSBK/2,00), 36. Filip Altendorfer (DE/EWC/0,00), 37. Florian Bauer (DE/EWC/0,00), 38. Rico Löwe (DE/EWC/0,00), 39. Didier Grams (DE/Macau Grand Prix/0,00)

It is still possible to register for the 2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy on the website deadline for registrations for the current season is not until 2nd November 2014, entry is free. Regardless of when the registrations are received, each participant will receive points for all the race events he/she has competed in since the start of the scoring period on 15th February 2014. So the ranking can also continuously change as new participants are added.