BMW DTM Racing Driver Marco Wittmann finishes sixth at his home race


Marco Wittmann finishes sixth at his home race to retain the DTM lead – Joey Hand also in the points for BMW.

Norisring (DE), 29th June 2014. Marco Wittmann (DE) was the best-placed BMW driver at his home race on the Norisring (DE), finishing in sixth place. Despite difficult conditions, the local favourite from BMW Team RMG still managed to pick up eight points in the Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM and continues to lead the DTM Drivers’ Championship with 58 points. Joey Hand (US), at the wheel of the Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M4 DTM, also produced an impressive display to finish seventh behind Wittmann on a track that was wet at first but dried out as the race progressed. Victory went to Mercedes driver Robert Wickens (CA).


The remaining BMW DTM drivers missed out on the top ten in the fourth of ten races this season. Bruno Spengler (CA) finished 11th in the BMW Bank M4 DTM. Augusto Farfus (BR) was unable to benefit from an early first pit stop, eventually crossing the finish line 14th in the Castrol EDGE BMW M4 DTM. The two BMW Team MTEK drivers, Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM) and António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM), came home 16th and 20th.

Maxime Martin (BE) demonstrated his renowned ability in the wet during the first half of the race, climbing as high as fifth place. However, he returned to the track with wet-weather tyres on the SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM after his first stop. When the circuit then started to dry out towards the end of the race, Martin was forced to switch to slicks and dropped back into 17th. Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM) was forced to retire from the race following a collision with Gary Paffett (GB).

BMW DTM Racing

“That was the tough race we expected. The weather made conditions very difficult, and the race was dominated by the tyre strategy. It all came down to switching from wets to slicks at just the right moment. Given the position we started from, we are not unhappy with the outcome of the race as far as the Drivers’ Championship is concerned. Marco Wittmann had a good race and managed to leave with a few more points to his name. Joey Hand also produced a great display to finish in the points. On the whole, we are obviously not satisfied. We are not here to finish sixth and seventh. When it comes down to it, the total package was not good enough on this circuit, with its special requirements. However, we are pleased to have been able to limit the damage. We are looking ahead now, and expect to fare better in Moscow in two weeks. Congratulations to Robert Wickens and Mercedes on the win. And compliments to the many spectators: over 121,000 turned out over the course of the weekend and stuck it out in the stands despite this weather. That deserves the utmost respect.”

Facts and figures from Norisring:

Circuit / Date Norisring, 29th June 2014
Laps / Distance 83 laps, 2.3 km
2014 Pole Position Robert Wickens (CA), 47.883 seconds
2014 Winner Robert Wickens (CA), Mercedes
2014 Fastest Lap Mattias Ekström (SE), 48.610 seconds


Number 3 4 9 10 17 18 23 24
Team BMW Team RBM BMW Team RBM BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team MTEK BMW Team MTEK BMW Team RMG BMW Team RMG
Free practice 18th 19th 10th 17th 20th 22nd 7th 14th
Qualifying 15th 14th 16th 19th 13th 22nd 8th 11th
Race 14th 7th 11th DNF 16th 20th 6th 17th
2014 points 14 7 23 8 10 4 58 8
Current position 11th 18th 10th 17th 14th 19th 1st 16th
Performance Weights +5kg +2.5kg +5kg +5kg +2.5kg +2.5kg +5kg +2.5kg


Standings after 4 of 10 races.  

DTM Racing Driver standings.

  • 1. Marco Wittmann (58 points)
  • 2. Edoardo Mortara (39),
  • 3. Mattias Ekström (35),
  • 4. Mike Rockenfeller (35),
  • 5. Adrien Tambay (28),
  • 6. Miguel Molina (26),
  • 7. Robert Wickens (25),
  • 8. Christian Vietoris (25),
  • 9. Jamie Green (24),
  • 10. Bruno Spengler (23),
  • 11. Augusto Farfus (14),
  • 12. Paul di Resta (12),
  • 13. Pascal Wehrlein (10),
  • 14. Timo Glock (10),
  • 15. Timo Scheider (9),
  • 16. Maxime Martin (8),
  • 17. Martin Tomczyk (8),
  • 18. Joey Hand (7),
  • 19. António Félix da Costa (4),
  • 20. Gary Paffett (4). 

DTM Racing Team standings

  • 1. Audi Sport Team Abt (67 points),
  • 2. BMW Team RMG (66) ,
  • 3. Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline (61),
  • 4. Audi Sport Team Phoenix (44),
  • 5. Original-Teile Mercedes AMG (37),
  • 6. BMW Team Schnitzer (31),
  • 7. EURONICS / FREE MAN’S WORLD Mercedes AMG (29),
  • 8. Audi Sport Team Rosberg (24),
  • 9. BMW Team RBM (21),
  • 10. BMW Team MTEK (14),
  • 11. gooix Mercedes AMG (10). 

Manufacturers’ standings

  • 1. Audi (196 points),
  • 2. BMW (132), Mercedes-Benz (76).

2014 DTM Racing Calendar:

  • 4th May – Hockenheim (DE),
  • 18th May – Oschersleben (DE),
  • 1st June – Budapest (HU),
  • 29th June – Norisring (DE),
  • 13th July – Moscow (RU),
  • 3rd August – Spielberg (AT),
  • 17th August – Nürburgring (DE),
  • 14th September – Lausitzring (DE),
  • 28th September – Guangzhou (CN),
  • 19th October – Hockenheim (DE). 

About the DTM

The German Touring Car Masters – DTM for short – is the most popular touring car series in the world. Last season, over 700,000 spectators flocked to renowned racetracks in Germany and around Europe to watch the ten races live. The series pits the three premium automobile manufacturers BMW, Audi and Mercedes-Benz against each other in a sporting contest. BMW fielded its first works teams from 1984 to 1992, during which time it claimed 49 race victories and won the Drivers’ Championship on three occasions (1984, 1987 and 1989). In 2012, the manufacturer returned to the DTM with the BMW M3 DTM, three teams and six drivers. BMW promptly won five races and topped the driver, team and manufacturer standings at the end of the season. In 2013, BMW Motorsport managed to defend the Manufacturer’s title with four teams and eight drivers. The 2014 DTM calendar once again consists of ten races. The schedule includes four trips abroad, to Budapest (HU), Spielberg (AT), Moscow (RU) and Guangzhou (CN). The season traditionally ends in Hockenheim (DE) on 19th October.