Best Trucks in South Africa Truck X Awards 2014


The inaugural TruckX Conference and Awards took place today at the Maslow Hotel in Sandton, Johannesburg. A first for South Africa, this prestigious event provides a platform on which to recognise the needs and demands of the fleet, trucking and logistics industry. The event was a huge success with local comedian Joey Rasdien as host, a packed to capacity conference meeting room and an award ceremony to boot.

The conference panel discussions were chaired by experienced news anchor, Jeremy Maggs. The topics were supported by an impeccable line-up of industry specialists on each panel. Two topics were tabled for discussion and first up Jeremy posed the question; Is South Africa’s logistics sector embracing technology?

The panel then delved into an engaging discussion on the latest in telematics technologies from an Original Equipment Manufacturer and aftermarket perspective. They also took an intense look into the role finance, insurance, risk management and human resources management plays in harnessing technology as well as the state of SA’s GFIP e-Toll system. Panellists included Hein Jordt (MD: Ctrack Fleet Management), Geoff du Plessis (MD: MAN Truck & Bus SA), Ricardo Coetzee (Managing Executive of Automotive: Innovation Group), Clinton Savage (Divisional Manager: Mercedes-Benz Trucks), Wayne Rautenbach (National Manager: Regent Commercial Vehicles) and Wayne Duvenage (Chairperson: OUTA).

“In today’s economy, commercial fleet and logistics managers are faced with a multitude of challenges surrounding increasing fuel and maintenance costs, safety and security, driver productivity and real-time monitoring.” adds, Hein Jordt: Managing Director of Ctrack Fleet Management. “We strive to continually bring new and latest developments to the market, poised with a goal to make a difference to any fleet operation and living up to our commitment of keeping your mobile assets always visible.”
The afternoon discussion focused on how to stay on top of increasing expenses. Panellists included Ray Singh (MD of Customer Solution Development: Unitrans), John Anderson (Commercial Lubricants Specialist: Fuchs Lubricants), Nico van der Westhuizen (CEO: Imperial Logistics Industrial Divisional), Dr Iain Barton (MD: Imperial Health Sciences) and Luyanda Gozo (New Business Development Manager Commercial: Sasol).

These panellists not only shared great insight into the challenges facing the industry but also touched on emerging trends and industry best practice on what fuel companies are doing to produce more fuel from fewer resources, and how transporters are looking to lower their overall consumption. Issues that affect the logistics sector’s output such as health and safety – including the HIV/AIDS infections, access to healthcare on the road, labour related matters, road safety and driver training were brought to the fore and unpacked in greater detail.

This event could not have been a success without the contribution of headline sponsor Ctrack – a leader in sharing best practices and telematics solutions in the fleet management sphere – and corporate sponsors; Innovation Group, Sasol, Regent Commercial Vehicles, Unitrans, Willard Batteries, Fleet and Future Trucking & Logistics.

Future Group extends their vote of thanks to independent research house, TNS for executing the survey which resulted in the pronouncement of the winners of the awards. The survey was conducted through a web-based questionnaire which was distributed to thousands of fleet managers across the country. The R10 000 incentive prize offered to encourage participation was won by Mr Victor Buso from Barloworld Logistics.

Editor of the Future Group’s Automotive Division, Wynter Murdoch, said the discussions had been informative and had put into perspective many of the issues which faced the country’s trucking and logistics sectors, while the awards had recognised companies and brands which were perceived to be delivering excellence within the segments.

Truck of the Year winner Mercedes-Benz Trucks walked away with no less than four awards, including the Best Extra Heavy/Heavy Vehicle Manufacturer, Best Medium Commercial Vehicle Manufacturer as well as Best After Sales Service. Toyota nabbed two awards – Best Fleet Car Manufacturers and Best Light Commercial Vehicle Manufacturer. Engen and Imperial each also won two awards with other notable achievements from Auto and General, Bridgestone, FedEx and Henfred Fruehauf.

Congratulations to all those who walked away with accolades in the various categories, the complete list of winners is as follows:



Best Tyre Brand Bridgestone
Best Fuel/Lubricant Brand Engen
Best Insurer Auto & General
Best Courier Company FedEx
Best Third Party Logistics Provider Imperial
Best In-house Logistics Provider Imperial
Best Truck Stop Engen
Best Trailer / Semi Trailer / Body-builder Manufacturer Henred Fruehauf
Best After Sales Service Mercedes-Benz
Best Fleet Car Manufacturer Toyota
Best Light Commercial Vehicle Manufacturer Toyota
Best Medium Commercial Vehicle Manufacturer Toyota
Best Extra Heavy/Heavy Vehicle Manufacturer Mercedes-Benz Trucks
Truck of the Year Mercedes-Benz Trucks