BEN, the automotive industry charity held its annual awards ceremony on the 17th November at Town Thorns its Care Centre, near Rugby. Nominees and guests assembled in order to celebrate the support they gave during 2010-2011. Six trophies were given to individuals and organisations in recognition of their efforts and achievements during this time.

    BEN Announces Award Winners 2011

    Trade Journal of the Year was won by Car Dealer Magazine who beat Automotive Management Magazine, Motor Finance Magazine, and Scots Auto Scene Magazine to take this year’s prize. Car Dealer provides continued coverage of BEN’s activity throughout the year. Car Dealer is also the driving force behind Bangers4BEN and Car Trade Up Fundraising Schemes.

    The Barry Needham Trophy is awarded to the organisation that has worked hardest to increase the awareness of BEN during 2010-2011. The nominees were Camberley Auto Factors, Ferrari, and the Scottish Motor Trade Association. The winner for their annual benefit day for BEN beneficiaries and raising awareness, was Ferrari.

    The Henley Cup winner for 2010-2011 was BMW. The Henley Cup is awarded to the Voluntary Group who has had the biggest impact on BEN’s work during 2010-2011. This year BMW had a great impact on the lives of the residents at BEN’s Lynwood Care Centre when 19 members of their team put up the Christmas decorations in time for the festivities. The nominees included the Lynwood and Town Thorns League of Friends.

    The National BEN Week Trophy is awarded to either the most innovative or successful fundraising idea during National BEN Week 2010. The companies that were considered for the trophy were British Car Auctions (BCA), Enterprise Rent-A-Car, and Honda each of whom had supported BEN with fundraising efforts during National BEN Week. Enterprise Rent-A-Car scooped this year’s trophy when they raised £500 with an ice cream sale at their Staff BBQ and entertained a ‘Flip-Flop Friday’.

    The BEN London Marathon Cup is given to the runner who participation has done the most to further the cause of BEN either through awareness or sponsorship. This year there were three nominees for this award – Mike May, Kerry Maclean, and Amy Kenward. Mike May raced away with this year’s award for raising an amazing £16,592 since 2003 by running the London Marathon year on year.

    The Les Sutton Cup nominees of 2010-2011 were Eamonn Galligan, Jill Hinds, and Graham Thorning. The cup is prized to the individual volunteer who has contributed the most to BEN during the year. Eamonn Galligan was this year’s recipient of the award for the remarkable amounts of money he raises through the running of the annual Paul Finn Rally and Lynwood Summer Fete, plus the B2B Rally.