Audi A3 is named 2014 World Car of the Year

  • Third generation of the Audi A3 is the 2014 World Car of the Year
  • Second overall victory for Audi at World Car of the Year Awards


The Audi A3, the premium compact bestseller from the brand with the four rings, is the 2014 World Car of the Year.  This is the second overall title for Audi in the ten year history of the World Car of the Year Awards as the Audi A6 won the inaugural overall title in 2005.

The third generation of the Audi A3 is now officially confirmed as a world beater.  It overcame the challenge from 23 other cars to win the prestigious World Car of the Year title in 2014.  The A3 was voted as the winner by an international jury panel comprising 69 top-level automotive journalists from 22 countries around the world. The new Audi A3 is available as a 3 door, Sportback, Cabriolet and Sedan powered by a range of TFSI gasoline and TDI diesel engines.

Rupert Stadler, Chairman of the Board of Management of AUDI AG, said: “The Audi A6 was the first ever winner of this award and we are delighted that the Audi A3 has repeated that achievement by being voted 2014 World Car of the Year.  The Audi A3 showcases Audi’s technical competence in all aspects of carmaking, not least in the areas of lightweight technology, drivetrain, mobile infotainment and driver assistance systems.  This major award win is an achievement that the whole company can celebrate”.

Audi A3

Audi can look back on a 16-year success story with the A3.  In 1996, the first generation of the model series established an entirely new market segment – the premium compact class. With the second generation, which followed in 2003, the brand extended its lead with the addition of a Cabriolet to the familiar 3 door and Sportback body styles.  The third A3 generation is available in four body styles following the further addition of the Sedan.

With this win for the Audi A3, Audi has maintained its position as the manufacturer with the most World Car of the Year titles.  The brand has previously won three World Performance Car titles, two World Car Design of the Year titles and the inaugural World Car of the Year title.  In total Audi has won seven titles at the World Car of the Year Awards:

  • 2005 –  Audi A6 – World Car of the Year
  • 2007 – Audi RS – World Performance Car
  • 2007 – World Car Design of the Year
  • 2008 – Audi R8 – World Performance Car
  • 2008 – Audi R8 – World Car Design of the Year
  • 2010 – Audi R8 V10 – World Performance Car
  • 2014 – Audi A3 – World Car of the Year