2014 Zwartkops Raceway Inland Racing Series


The Zwartkops Raceway’s Inland season started in spectacular fashion over the weekend. A large entry tackled more than 30 races in a wide variety of categories over two days, making it the largest single motorsport event in South African history.  Meanwhile a feast of singers, drifting, a flea market and a beer garden helped to entertain a laqrge crowd.

Zwarkops Raceway

  • Topping the event were three races for G&H Transport Extreme Supercars, which produced three separate overall winners.

On Friday afternoon Charl Arrangies took his Motul Dodge Viper V10 to the first win, ahead of Anton Cronje (AF Hydraulic Subaru WRX), Jonathan du Toit (TAR Ferrari 430), Gianni Giannoccaro (G & H Transport BMW CSL) and Jimmy Giannoccarro (G & H BMW M135i).

The Dodge damaged its engine and did not turn up for Saturday’s races, while the computer in Du Toit’s Ferrari went into limp mode.

That left Anton Cronje to win the second race in the Subaru, leading home Deon du Plessis (BPT KTM Cross-Bow), Willem van der Westhuizen (C3 Engineers Ferrari 360), Jimmy Giannoccaro and Oliver Dalais (Marlboro Crane Porsche Cup).

The Subaru damaged its turbocharger before the start of race three.

  • That left Willem van der Westhuizen to win ahead of Jimmy Giannocarro, Greg Parton (Drizit KTM Crossbow), Gianni Giannoccaro and Oliver Dalais.
  • Veteran Willie Hepburn took his venerable Opel Rekord V8 to victory in both the Big Boss Auto Super Saloon races.
  • On the first occasion he was followed by Matty Maartens (Denmar Steel Jaguar) and Amos Cockeram (AJC VW Corado).


In race two Carl Nel (Gears for Africa Jaguar) and Matty Maartens took the runner-up places.

  • Jose Sardinha (JS Honda CRX) won the opening Speed and Sound 111 race from Dirk Lawrence (JDM Tuning Honda Ballade), Lucas Bezuidenhout (Pta North Toyota Altezza) and Nic Smythe (BMW 330i).
  • The second time around Bezuidenhout won from Sardinha, Adrian Dalton (Xtra Shoes VW Golf) and Lawrence.
  • The Goldwagen Northern Bolt & Tool Superhatch class winners were Brett Garland (Class A Jonnesway Honda Civic), Nic Martin (REX Diff Opel Kadett) and Morne Human (Action Ford Fiesta ST)
  • Emmanual Athanassiou (Import Parts Nissan) won both the Libra Production Silver Cup races.
  • In the first, he led home Francois Joubert (Unos Africa Honda Ballade) and Jose Sardinha (JS Honda CRX).
  • The second time, JP Nortje (Toyota Spaceframe) and Jose Sardinha took the rest of the podium places.
  • Devin Robertson (Big Boss Yamaha) won all three of the day’s Liqui Moly Inex Legends races from Seef Fourie (K’Archer Yamaha), with Franco di Matteo (Varta Yamaha), Alan-Jon Venter (Red Star Yamaha) and Jason Wessels (Red Star Yamaha) taking turns in the respective third places.
  • Both Thunderbike races went to Anthony Shelley (Brooke Refrigeration Kawasaki), ahead of Kyran de Lange (Silverton Midas Triumph Daytona).
  • Ewald Vorster (BTS Tag Honda Fireblade) won the Brunch Run Challenge overall, with JB Schoeman (Tysica Laser Kawasaki) scooping the honours in the Masters category.
  • Lappies Steenkamp (GTI Swift) won both the Monoposto single seater races, with Nico Beets (Jabulani Idustrial Speads) and Louis van der Merwe ( yorkies.co.za Swift) in the respective second places.
  • On Friday James Hurley (Starter Pack Polo), Lyle Ramsey (VW Polo) and Zander Roos (Nathan’s Polo) were the respective overall winners in Classes A, B and C of the Comsol VW Challenge.
  • Stewart Macleod (Red Star Kawasaki) took the honours in the Red Square Kawasaki ZX10R Masters category, followed by Kyle Robinson (Tech Group Kawasaki) and Jaco Gouws (Kawasaki).
  • The respective winners of the Big Boss MPC Midvaal Historic classes were Dirk Lawrence (Class A JDM Tuning Honda Ballade), Adrian Dalton (Class B XTRA Shoes VW Golf) and Kevin Miller (Class C Drivecool Ford Ikon).
  • Jaco Schriks (Office Direct Rhema) won the Hankook Formula Vee events overall, leading home Symm Grobler (Rhema) and Alan Holm (Laserprint Rhema).
  • Roy Prando (Alfa Giulia) took overall honours in the SA Mechanical Seals Alfa Trofeo handicap events. He was followed by Warren Ewart (Art Electrical Alfa GTV) and Angelique Griffin (SA Mechanical Seal Alfa Sud).
  • Eeric Horn (PVP Rotax ) took the 250 Superkart victory from Stevin Levin (PVP Superkart) and Trevor Green (Rotax Anderson).
  • Sean Moore (Ziegler PVP Superkart) set the weekend’s quickest lap time of 1 minute, 01,45 seconds.