2014 Dakar Rally – MINI


2014 Dakar Rally: Joan “Nani” Roma claims second day victory    in the MINI ALL4 Racing // MINI in the top four positions overall.

Mini Dakar 2014

Munich (DE). The MINI ALL4 Racing put all his strengths on display  during the 2014 Dakar Rally’s fifth leg from Cilecito to Tucamán (both  AR) on Thursday. With Joan “Nani” Roma (ES) behind the wheel of the  Monster Energy X-raid Team’s yellow MINI ALL4 Racing, the car showed  reliability as well as its agility on a day that challenged all  competitors to the most on a terrain consisting of soft dune sands as  well as typical off-road sections.

Roma and the MINI ALL4 Racing,  which is based on the MINI John Cooper Works Countryman and modified  by the Germany-based X-raid Team to excel in the tough Dakar  conditions, mastered it all.

While the organisers had to shorten the route by 99 kilometres, Roma  remained focused on the goal not only to perform well during the day  but also to reclaim the overall Dakar lead from Carlos Sainz (ES) who  had taken it the previous day. When Roma reached the day’s finish line  it was mission accomplished for him as his competitors proved to be  slower. “We had a flawless run,” said Roma in Tucamán. “The conditions  were very challenging but our preparations paid off and the MINI ALL4  Racing was in tiptop shape. A good day for us. Onto the next now.”

In addition to Roma’s second 2014 Dakar day victory, three more MINI  ALL4 Racing drivers were able to move up in the overall standings.  Nasser Al-Attiyah (QT) who finished the day in fifth is now second  overall. Third is Orlando Terranova (AR) after he pleased his home  crowds while going fourth for the day. And last but not least it was  eleven-time Dakar winner Stéphane Peterhansel (FR) who moved into  fourth overall thus giving the X-raid Team and the MINI brand a  one-to-four in the overall rankings.

On day six the cars head north for the final leg before the rest day  on Saturday while the drivers cross some of Argentina’s most  attractive scenery on the iconic Routa 40. After that it is a  well-deserved one-day rest in Salta (AR). What tourists can enjoy is  hard work for the Dakar drivers however. The speed on this leg changes  constantly, the roads are narrow and rocks make the route become a  tricky one.

Dakar Rally Day 6 Quick Facts.

  • Date: 10th January, 2014
  • Start/finish: Tucamán/Salta (both AR) – Leg 6
  • Official starting time (cars): 10.05 AM ART (UTC -3)
  • Total distance: 694 km, Special stage: 424 km, Liaison: 270 km

MINI at the 2014 Dakar Rally.

A total of eleven MINI ALL4 Racing compete in the 2014 Dakar. All are  based on the MINI John Cooper Works Countryman, modified by the  factory-supported X-raid Team to meet the high demands of the Dakar  Rally which is today’s pinnacle of off-road motorsports. With a  combination of power, reliability and efficiency the MINI ALL4 Racing  proved its competiveness right from its first Dakar start in 2011  while also winning the hearts of the fans from the word go.

On only its second Dakar appearance, the MINI ALL4 Racing made the  big breakthrough by winning the 2012 Dakar Rally. In 2013 the MINI  brand proved that its Dakar success was no flash in the pan by  defending its title at the first attempt. This year, the X-raid Team  and the MINI brand are aiming at clinching their third consecutive  Dakar title when the 2014 Dakar ends in Valparaiso, Chile, on 18th January. 

2014 Dakar MINI Driver Lineup.

  • #300 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    Monster Energy X-raid Team
    Stéphane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FR/FR)
  • #301 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Nasser Al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QT/ES)
  • #304 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    Monster Energy X-raid Team
    Joan “Nani” Roma/Michel Périn (ES/FR)
  • #307 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    Monster Energy X-raid Team
    Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiúza (AR/PT).
  • #309 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    Monster Energy X-raid Team
    Krzysztof Holowczyc/Konstantin Zhiltsov (PL/RU)
  • #314 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Vladimir Vasilyev/Vitaliy Yevtyekhov (RU/RU)
  • #317 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Boris Garafulic/Gilles Picard (CL/FR)
  • #319 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Zhou Yong/Pan Hong Yu (CN/CN)
  • #330 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Federico Villagra/Jorge Perez Companc (AR/AR)
  • #332 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team.
    Martin Kaczmarski/Filipe Palmeiro (PL/PT)
  • #337 MINI ALL4 Racing.
    X-raid Team
    Stephan Schott/Holm Schmidt (DE/DE)