2014 Chevrolet Feather Awards


Fabulosity drives on at 2014 Chevrolet Feather Awards


13 NOVEMBER 2013 – With their trademark cheek, over-the-top-ness and fabulousness, the sixth annual Chevrolet Feather Awards took place at Johannesburg’s Urban Tree venue on Wednesday, 12 November.

“It’s been six years of the Chevrolet Feather Awards now, and we’re gratified to still be here, and growing,” comments Chevrolet Feather Awards co-founder Thami Kotlolo. “This year has been especially wonderful as we’ve formalised our partnership with Chevrolet. The Film and Publication Board, and the Gauteng Department of Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation, have continued with their support as well. Our community is diverse and faces an incredible number of challenges, so allies are important to us. The entertainment industry has historically been open to- and supportive of LGBTI rights and issues, so this evening is an acknowledgement of that relationship, as well as a space where we articulate our struggles and celebrate our triumphs. ”

With MCs Sade Giliberti and Akhumzi Jele, the evening certainly reflected this duality – the theme of Celebrating Freedom of Expression, in commemoration of South Africa’s 20 Years of Democracy, was reflected in the content, which delivered on the memorable moments it’s become famous for.

The event commenced with the mandatory Pink Carpet arrivals, fronted by Lumko Johnson quizzing guests about everything from their fashion designers to their date choices.
The first entertainment performance came courtesy of a Chevrolet Feather Awards institution, Madame Gigi, who left no holy cows un-slaughtered as she performed her scathing analysis of the personalities who made 2014 hilarious, interesting, and downright scandalous.

Winners of the night were a mix of old favourites and previous winners, as well as some new faces – among them Isibaya’s Thembi Nyandeni who took home the Diva Extraordinaire award, Nandi Mngoma for Best Styled Female, Mafikizolo who won the Musician of the Year category, actor Amanda Dupont for Hot Chick of the Year, Nkuli Tshirumbula for Hunk of the Year, and Lerato Kganyago, awarded for the coveted Fag Hag of the year award.

As always, the Chevrolet Feather Awards ceremony was defined by incredible stage performances, this year featuring upcoming house sensation Fiesta Black, Kabomo, Vusi Nova, Wanda Baloyi and Moneoa who performed a stirring rendition of Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes activists anthem, Wake Up Everybody, (No More Sleeping in Bed) – both as a call to action to South Africans to rise against the scourge of violence against members of the LGBTI community, and an emphasis of the event’s Freedom of Expression theme. The sizzling Busisiwa closed the evening’s performances, after which DJ Warras, the Major League Boys and DJ Shimza held down the after-party.

“Our partnership with the Chevrolet Feather Awards is an important statement about our support of diversity, and our commitment to creating an environment that is welcoming to all within the workplace, and in larger society,” commented Brian Olson, Vice President of Vehicle Sales, Service and Marketing at General Motors South Africa.

“More than just being a glittering event that showcases incredible South African talent, it’s important to recognise that the Chevrolet Feather Awards deliver a critical statement about the rights of the LGBTI community, and create an environment that is unapologetic about that message. Furthermore the Chevrolet Feather Awards have the effect of shining a spotlight on the LGBTI community and encourage a broader debate on issues that affect this group.”

Chevrolet Feather Awards 2014 – Winners

  • Best Styled Female – Nhlanhla Nciza
  • Best Styled Male – Maps Maponyane
  • Cutest Couple – Lalla Hirayama and Chris “The Mayor” Nkosi
  • Sports Personality of the Year – Fikile Mbalula
  • Role Model of the Year – Zizo Beda and Thuli Madonsela
  • Diva Extraordinaire – Thembi Nyandeni
  • Hot Chick of the Year – Amanda Dupont
  • Hunk of the Year – Nkuli Tshirumbula
  • Musician of the Year – Mafikizolo
  • Media Award of the Year – Shift (SABC1)
  • Socialite of the Year – Simphiwe Dana
  • Fag Hag of the Year – Lerato Kganyago
  • Drama Queen of the Year – Generations Cast and Mfundi Vundla
    Feather of the Year – Out In Africa Film Festival.